The Best Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This crust was great. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine and added more warm water a little at a time until it reached the proper 'dough ball' consistency while kneading, I'd say I added an extra 1/2 cup of water. Other than that the recipe was perfect, yeilding a nice soft and chewy crust. I baked it on an insulated cookie sheet and during the last few minutes of baking slid it off the cookie sheet right onto the oven rack so the bottom would get crispy. I bet this would be ever better baked on a pizza stone. You can add some garlic powder, cheese, or pizza spice to the dough for a more flavorful crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Great crust (after adding an extra 3/4 cup warm water that is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Very good. I used olive oil instead of margarine and added about 1/4 cup more of water based on other reviews. I also added a little bit of garlic powder for a little bit of flavor. I thin I will make this crust again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I have tried quite a few pizza crust recipes, this one is pretty good. However, it is definitely short on liquid. I had to double the water. I also am a big fan of the dough-cycle on my bread maker, so I made it this way and with the extra water and a dash of olive oil, it came out perfect! I do feel like this recipe should give a little more guidance as to time- on the second rise and the first bake specifically. I found them to be 30 minutes and 10 minutes, respectively. I also slid the pizza onto a broiling pan for the last 15 minutes of cooking to get a nice, crispy bottom. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gooddealmeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This makes a pretty good pizza crust. It can be a little chewy for my taste, but the flavor is good and it's fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I have tried lots of Pizza Crusts looking for the perfect one. This is it! We love it!!!! Even my fussy 2 year old eats it. And loves to help make it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe my family loved it. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYGIRLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. John, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
It's been eons since I've made homemade pizza, and the crust has always been the issue. I'm always looking for that pizza parlor flavor and texture. Yeasty flavor, crispy outside, chewy inside. This crust has a great texture, and made a nice thick crust which browned beautifully; it held up to the toppings I heaped on it and wasn't at all doughy. Prebaking it is absolutely inspired, and I think it made all the difference in the end product. This recipe may be a little more work than others at, but in my estimation, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I've tried a lot of pizza crusts and so far this is my families favorite. I also made it in my bread machine and used 2/3 cups water. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This pizza dough was DELICIOUS! I made it in my bread maker so it couldn't have been easier. You definitely need to add 2/3 cups of water instead of 1/3. The dough was so EASY to manipulate and form. I will never make another dough again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States