The Best Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Awesome! Just what I was looking for. Not to mealy, with a nice flufly texture yet crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe made a great crust. I modified it by using olive oil instead of butter or margarine and half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tash
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
After reading the reviews I subbed 1/2 cup whole milk for the milk powder. I also put cornmeal on the pan to help prevent sticking. I mixed it in my kitchenaid with the dough hook. The texture was great. But the taste wasn't quite what we look for in a pizza. I don't even know what to change to make it better. For reference I spread it as thin as possible, cooked it the first time for about 12 min, and the 2nd time for 14.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
It was very good but I agree I had to add a lot more water and I also added a little olive oil I love a crust with that. One of my crusts turned out better than the other haven't quite figured that out yet either but I think its because I put an oil based sauce on and it just drenched this dough up a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Agree with adding more water - I use a total of 3/4 cup. I take a fork and blend everything (looks like shreds of dough) and then using my hand push it all into a ball. Last couple of times I've added ~1 tbs of olive oil at this stage and I let it proof (rise) for at least 3 hours under a towl in a bowl. Also have had good luck exchanging the milk powder for powdered buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
After having trouble with a gluey batch, I tried again and while it was still really hard to put together after adding 2/3C more water than the recipe said to add, it was pretty nice. I liked the consistency but wish I didn't have that "Oh no, what did I do wrong?" moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This turned out great. The only thing I did differantly was to use real butter which I melted. I also had to use more water, between a 1/2 - 3/4 cup. I also placed the dough over the back burner of the oven and turned the oven to warm to help the dough rise. And when I cooked the dough before the toppings I did that for five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pocahontas, Iowa, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Oh dear, this just did not work out for me. I followed the recipe exactly but it was just like bread crumbs. From past recipes, I think it may be that there was not enough water. Pretty sure I won't be trying to make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I agree with the others not enough water so what I did was substitute the powder milk for 1/3 a cup regular milk. We also like a garlic bread crust so I added 1tbl spoon garlic powder. I also used this to make garlic bread sticks. After rolling out the dough into sticks and letting them rise again on the cookie sheet I brushed the top of them with a stick of butter and some garlic salt. Came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This recipe absolutely needed a bit more water,,, I also exchanged 1 Tbl 'olive oil' for the margarine which helped in the hydration and the taste. Try the first baking in a 1/2 sheet pan and this makes a great ' Sicilian' style pie. Check on it during the baking and poke any bubbles that may appear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States