The Best Pesto Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This was ok. I love pesto, made pretty much every recipe on this site, and this was by far my least favorite. I love adding pine nuts or walnuts to pesto, but the amounts called for were too much, it competed with the basil flavor. Also, the combination of both butter and olive oil made it way to heavy/greasy for my taste. I did like the idea of adding two cheeses, I will probably try that with one of the other recipes from this site, but I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I cut the olive oil down to 1/4 cup and it came out great! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe!. It was my first time making pesto, so this was a great starter for me. I did add about 1/3 cup red onion to it. Will definitley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Thanks for sharing this recipe with us. I love pesto and hope to try many more recipes here. I cut the olive oil to 1/4 cup as another suggested, and that seemed to suit me well - especially when topping it with oil to prevent oxidization. Initially thought it was too salty and not enough basil as another reviewer said, but once you get it on the pasta, it's just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was great! I used it with a creamy chicken pasta dish and it tasted amazing. However I did omit the romano cheese and pine nuts because I didn't have any on hand but I probably couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is heaven. I love pine nuts so I had added an extra tablespoon of them. Also, before placing the pine nuts and walnuts in the processor, I placed them in one layer on a baking sheet in the oven for 5 minutes on 350. It gets their oils going and a more nuttier flavor, which I find to be the great kick in pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
The olive oil amount should be cut down a bit, and don't add the butter. Butter isn't used in pesto recipes. It's usually nuts (pine or walnut), garlic, oil, basil, paremsan cheese. Salt and pepper can be added but aren't necessary. When I make pesto, I don't use garlic because I'm allergic, but onions or shallots make a good substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This pesto has far too may ingredients, I thought using the basil & parsley and walnuts & pine nuts muddled the flavors... too much competition...I also thought there was way too much fat involved. Sorry, but I like my pesto to have a clean, crisp basil/pine nut flavor. I did however like the mixture of cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
excellent for pastas, fish, chicken, grilled turkey, i´d like it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This really is the best pesto ever. I made it to go with pasta for a dinner party and made too much. The next night we ate it on burgers with melted mozzarella cheese and baby greens. They were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States