The Best Parmesan Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I watched the video and made this recipe before reading the reviews. I wouldn't have tried it after reading all the negative comments, but I'm so glad I did. I made this for company and we all loved it! I did have to bake longer than 35 mins (probably closer to 50) and the croutons got very crunchy on top but it was fantastic. My husband took leftovers to work and many colleagues asked for the recipe because it smelled so good! I've very rarely make Chicken Parmesan because of the time it takes to prepare, but this will be one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
413 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
First, let me say that I followed the directions as written for the most part. I only had half the amount of mozzarella on hand, I forgot the red pepper flake and I used chicken tenders instead of breasts. Very, very good recipe. I only have a couple of suggestions. First, use chicken tenders, they cook faster and they're easier to portion. Second, I will grind up the croutons next time and add them on top of the cheese. I could probably use bread crumbs for that, but I like the buttery taste that the croutons give. I wasn't missing the red pepper flake that I left out. I was also perfectly happy with half the amount of mozzarella, and I'm a cheeseaholic. Also, I used a variety of our store's brand of pasta sauce (because it's really, really good). Thanks Chef John for a great recipe I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I did NOT watch the video for this recipe. This was pretty good--it helped flavor-wise that I made my own chunky vegetable marinara. Four really big chicken breasts were enough for me. We all liked it--the garlic croutons on the top was one of the best parts of the casserole. Next time, I'd cut back on the parmesan cheese by at least half and also season the chicken before I sauteed it. I served this along side fettucini noodles and a big leafy salad. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I also found this recipe originally through Pinterest, and made it last week - my picky toddler & preschooler really liked it, as did my pickier husband! It's pretty clear from the recipe that it's not really chicken parm - it isn't breaded for one thing. It's more like a deconstructed version of the dish. We loved the croutons, and would probably add a bit more sauce. I used chicken tenderloins, and ended up using about 1.3 pounds of them. Served with linguine. Really nice and easy dish overall - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
THIS IS A GREAT RECIPE, ONLY I THINK IT JUST NEEDED A COUPLE OF CHANGES. I BROWNED AND SEASONED THE CHICKEN FIRST, ADDED SAUCE ON BOTTON AND MORE ON TOP, I ALSO COVERED IT AFTER IT HAD BACKED FOR 15 MININTUES,(JUST AS SOMEONE ELSE HAD SUGGESTED), TOOK COVER OFF LAST 5 MINUTES OF BAKING WHICH DID TAKE ABOUT 10 MINUTES LONGER TO BAKE. IT'S A GOOD REDIPE THAT ONE JUST NEED TO MAKE OVER TO THEIR OWN TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Yum! With a little tweaking, you can make this super fast and easy without having to thaw your chicken breasts first. What I did was coat the bottom of the pan with sauce, place the frozen chicken on top, then cover with the rest of the sauce and spices. Baked for about 45 minutes, added the cheese/breadcrumbs and let that sit under the broiler to crisp and brown up for a couple minutes, and viola! Perfectly moist, flavorful chicken and no thawing required! Lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
My family enjoyed this. I used Prego pasta sauce and Italian blend shredded cheese instead of plain mozzarella. I also put a thin layer of sauce and cheese on the bottom before adding the garlic and crushed red pepper. I also covered it about half way through cooking because my croutons got toasted pretty quickly and I didn't want them to get too brown while the chicken was still cooking. We'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I was so excited about making this - looked forward to this dinner for days!! I watched the video, knew what to do. After reading the reviews, *** I sliced the breasts in half lengthwise so they were thinner.*** They cooked up fine. I used 3 cloves of garlic, quite a hefty pinch of pepper flakes, and a nice spaghetti sauce that my family likes. It was delicious! It is best straight from the oven so the topping will be crunchy - microwaving leftovers does not work. The crouton topping is very hearty and not for weight watchers... a lot of carbs... may try again without the topping to save some carbs and calories. But the dish was tasty, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is a definite keeper! WOW! I sprayed my glass 9x13 dish with Pam, trimmed the fat from 6 chicken breats and laid them flat, sprinkled them with garlic powder, red pepper and poultry seasoning. I covered them with one jar of Prego Light spaghetti sauce and a slice of mozarella cheese over each breast. Topped that with crushed up garlic croutons and some parmesan cheese. Cooked it at 350, uncovered for 50 minutes. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Unfortunately, I beg to differ. This is NOT the best parmesan chicken. I had hopes to make for a large group, but no dice. Back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States