The Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
3.5 out of 5 stars. While this is a decent oatmeal cookie recipe, I wouldn't call it the best, nor would I call it chewy. I followed the directions exactly and it seemed to be lacking something, of course I'm used to the recipe once used by my Great Grandmother at her restaurant, Dorothy's Lunch in Gambier, OH, but since I was lacking the shortening needed for her recipe and had a MAJOR oatmeal cookie craving I thought I'd give this one a try. Once again, not a bad recipe, but definitely not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corbinsmom85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I made these with dried cranberries instead of raisins and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Morrison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Oaks, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I made these for my husband since I don't like oatmeal cookies I thought I wouldn't eat them. I was wrong these cookies are wonderful!!!! I didn't soak raisins very long in eggs first time I made them the cookies were still awesome! The second time I had more time so I soaked for the full hour. They are even better!!! Didn't change recipe at all perfect just the way it is. Had to make more only two days later because my husband insisted he NEEDED more. :-) thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These are really good. For those that want a REALLY chewy cookie... The second time I made them, I used bread flour instead of all purpose, an egg yolk and full egg and 1 1/2c brown sugar and 1/2 c. white. They were sooooo chewy. I creamed the butter and sugars, then added the eggs and vanilla. I beat it well after adding the bread flour/leavening mixture to develop a little gluten and then added the oatmeal and raisins. Also, they could use more cinnamon and maybe a pinch of nutmeg to spice it up a tad. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
These are really the best oatmeal cookies ever! They taste like Pepperidge farms soft baked oatmeal cookies!!! I don’t understand why the egg’s, raisins and vanilla have to chill for an hour but hey it does something to make the cookies very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
The title says it all. They came out nice and fat even though i used half applesauce for the butter. Not flat at all like i thought they might be. Kids love them and they are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I followed the recipe and these turned out perfect. My husband was busy handing cookies to the neighbors they were so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
AMAZING. Just took the last batch out of the oven and they are truly wonderful. I added a half cup oats and instead of nuts I added 1 cup of chocolate chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This recipe was incredible. Soft and chewy cookie! I left out the pecans and substituted a dried craisin/cherry/blueberry mixture with the raisins and they were delish. I also used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, increased the oats to 2 and 1/2 cups, baking soda by 1 tsp. and used 1 and 1/2 cups brown sugar and only 1/2 white. I would make these cookies again 10 times the same exact way. Everyone at my house loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
i made this last nite and it was good. next time i will add more vanilla and maybe nutmay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alesia batz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States