The Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Finally! After 30 years of many different oatmeal cookie recipes, I have hit upon one my husband really loves! Oatmeal cookies have never been his favorite because he likes chewy--not cakelike, not crispy--CHEWY cookies! He tentatively took one bite, then another and then started exclaiming, "These are really good! Wow! These are sooo good!" They are easy to make (ended up with about 6 doz.), freeze very well, and above all, THEY ARE CHEWY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I added an extra cup of oatmeal (I used the slow cook kind) and switched out half of the raisins for dried cranberries. I found the extra oatmeal made them chewier and not as crispy and flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLH201

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Excellent cookies - great texture. A couple people mentioned the cookie was "cakey". They didn't follow the recipe then. Follow the recipe precisely and you will get a chewy cookie on the inside, a little crisp on the out. This includes the size in which you bake them in (teaspoon-size, no larger - they'll fan out as they cook). The flavor is outstanding. This is a definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I needed just a basic oatmeal cookie so I didn't include the raisins or nuts, and just added the egg to the creamed butter and sugar. To tell you the truth, I was initially unimpressed with and concerned about the dough as it seemed dry and it was kind of difficult to incorporate the oatmeal thoroughly. However... these are probably one of the best oatmeal cookies I've ever tried. First of all, they bake up beautifully, and you'd be proud to put them on your serving plate. I mean, they have a bakery look about them. Secondly, and most important, they're just darn good! Crispy on the edges, soft and chewy on the inside, pleasantly sweet with just a hint of cinnamon. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Just made these cookies yesterday nad I have to tell you that my son and daughter told me that these were the best Oatmeal Raisen cookies that they have ever had. I have to agree these are exceptional, Great flavor and nice chewey texture. I left out the nuts because they bother my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Change Nothing. These are perfect. After 2 days baking, of all the cookies I made, (all 5 star recipes from here) I think this one was my personal favorite, and oatmeal is not my favorite cookies. It really did have a nice blend of sweet and savory, with a great texture. Now that I think about it, they all were delicious. Check your cook times, If you like a toasted crunchy flavor, bake a bit longer if you like a chewy cookie, bake a bit less and let cool on the pan. These ARE NOT "CAKEY Cookies" Listen Reviewers.. if 100 people review something and say its a chewy cookie, and 5 say its a Cakey Cookie, I'm gonna go out on a limb and say, the 5 did something wrong or different. So before I judge a cookie against the grain, I'm going to make doggone sure I'm not the one looking like an idiot. Which means DOUBLE checking my recipe. Did I put too much of one thing and not enough of another? Is my oven too hot or not hot enough? Do I need to adjust my cook times? Am I cooling this on the cookie sheets? Are my cookies more like plum sized rather than walnut sized? I'm amazed by how many people can rate a cookie as awesome and then One reviewer comes in and bashes it and says something totally contrary to what everything else is saying, I know tastes are subjective, but texture? Not quite as much. Bottom line, before you bash a DELICIOUS recipe. Take a second, perhaps the problem is not the recipe, but the cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GregWmson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
THANK YOU ////I BAKE EVERYDAY FOR MY HUSBAND ... HE ALWAYS ASKS FOR "OATMEAL COOKIES ..BUT NOT SO HARD (AS HE PUTS IT ) " I OWN OVER 200 COOKBOOKS .. TRIED MANY OATMEAL COOKIE RECIPES .. MIXED, CHANGED , OMITTED , ETC ..ONCE IN A GREAT WHILE HE "OK'S" THEM .. THIS ONE PASSED WITH FLYING COLORS .OF COURSE IF HE GOT HIS TEETH FIXED ....JUST ALITTLE TN HUMOR . THANKS AGAIN .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Yum yum! These oatmeal raisin nut cookies are chewy, moist and delicious. They are mouthwatering! Some notes for those who like to experiment: I have made them with or without the nuts; they are excellent either way. Try dried cranberries for all or part of the raisins -- that gives it a nice tart sweetness, too. I have even made them with chocolate chips (skipping the "soaking" step) and that is top notch as well, if you have a big chocolate fan in your house. The review below that suggests more raisins and more cinnamon might be on to something. But then I always think you can't have enough raisins and spice. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
i love this cookie. i added chocolate chips at the end along with the oats!!! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Love this recipe. I alter it a little by adding a little less rasins, substituting with semi-sweet dark chocolate chips. I got the idea from a local bakery that made gigantic oatmeal/chocolate chip cookies. I also bake mine a little longer as I like a crunchier cookie. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States