The Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this cookie according to the recipe. It is not a sweet cookie, more cake like. I did not care for it, it's just not what I wanted it to taste like. Hope the family will like them. They were just not my favorite taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA
Living In: Jasper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
is it me or does this make a lot more than 36 "teaspoonfuls of cookies"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Change Nothing. These are perfect. After 2 days baking, of all the cookies I made, (all 5 star recipes from here) I think this one was my personal favorite, and oatmeal is not my favorite cookies. It really did have a nice blend of sweet and savory, with a great texture. Now that I think about it, they all were delicious. Check your cook times, If you like a toasted crunchy flavor, bake a bit longer if you like a chewy cookie, bake a bit less and let cool on the pan. These ARE NOT "CAKEY Cookies" Listen Reviewers.. if 100 people review something and say its a chewy cookie, and 5 say its a Cakey Cookie, I'm gonna go out on a limb and say, the 5 did something wrong or different. So before I judge a cookie against the grain, I'm going to make doggone sure I'm not the one looking like an idiot. Which means DOUBLE checking my recipe. Did I put too much of one thing and not enough of another? Is my oven too hot or not hot enough? Do I need to adjust my cook times? Am I cooling this on the cookie sheets? Are my cookies more like plum sized rather than walnut sized? I'm amazed by how many people can rate a cookie as awesome and then One reviewer comes in and bashes it and says something totally contrary to what everything else is saying, I know tastes are subjective, but texture? Not quite as much. Bottom line, before you bash a DELICIOUS recipe. Take a second, perhaps the problem is not the recipe, but the cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GregWmson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
When I used three eggs, it turned out bright yellow. But the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Good but tad sweet for my liking. Two days later, made again but changed a fewthings. 1.5 cups of sugar, (white and brown combined), dash more cinnamon and to make tad softer, 1/4 cup more oats, and the cookies were perfect 9-8-12 update. I have tried other similar recipes, not one comes even close to this one. If you don't like raisins use dried cranberries. Remember 1.5 cups combined white brown sugar is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I thought this was a good basic oatmeal cookie recipe. I cut the white sugar in half and added 1/4 cup molasses and they were still plenty sweet. Next time I might add a little more cinnamon. Overall, soft as advertised and yummy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are worth the wait! Thee BEST oatmeal cookie I have had. I added 1 extra cup of oats per another members suggestion and also took out a teaspoon of baking soda. Turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musik16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These are so damned wonderful, it's ridiculous! I baked everything in about an hour since my in-laws could keep the kids busy. They filled the house with that brown sugar/cinnamon scent. It's Xmas in a bite! We all ate one as soon as they were cool enough and my 1yr old kept making "yummy" sounds as he ate it. I had to make it with chocolate & no nuts because of allergies & no teeth (the 1yr old) & per recommended added more oats. Unfortunatedly adding the extra oats made the cookies not so very sweet so that was my bad. I do think the recipe should have more cinnamon but that's cause I love cinnamon. Then again it could've been the extra oats that ruined that too. Either way, wonderful cookies. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGo555

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I sifted in the baking soda with the flour and it was still very strong in flavor. If I use this recipe again, I will probably cut the baking soda down to 1 tsp. They're flat anyways, can't see it will make a difference other than better flavor. I also used 3 cups oats. I don't see how only 2 cups would suffice. This recipe was just "ehh."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEIRDRE7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Excellent cookies. Evidently those who said these cookies were cakey did not prepare them the way I did because they have perfect texture. I did add one tablespoon of molasses to the raisin mixture, but I wouldn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States