The Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
These are the best!! They are as good as my Mom's when we were kids. I have been looking for a good Oatmeal cookie recipes and this is it. Not too hard, not too mushy, perfect consistency and flavor.. Tks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Love this recipe. I alter it a little by adding a little less rasins, substituting with semi-sweet dark chocolate chips. I got the idea from a local bakery that made gigantic oatmeal/chocolate chip cookies. I also bake mine a little longer as I like a crunchier cookie. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
fab recipe.....I put in butterscotch chips for the kids in one batch with walnuts and they loved them( wouldnt hsare with their friends..lol).Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasbakery

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Instead of raisins and pecans, I added chopped dried apricots and walnuts. I let the chopped apricots sit in the egg mixture for a little longer (like 3 hours) so they were well hydrated. Everything else remained the same and everyone here likes the tangy snap the apricots add. I think it would taste even better with a bit of lemon or orange zest, too..... This was chewy if they are made in small cookies - that wasn't what happened with the bigger cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
These cookies are truly the BEST! I've made them several times and they're great every time. I use dried cranberries instead of raisins and walnuts instead of pecans...still, fabulous! I think the soaking of the raisins makes the difference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
these cookies turned out great-but i had a problem i never had before! the few minor changes i made were: subed 1/2 c. of peanut butter for 1/2 c. butter and to quick plump the raisins (i used dried cranberries) i used hot water and vanilla for about 20 min. i saw this in another recipe but had never tried it before. the cookies were moist and chewy the first 2 days but by the third day, stored in an airtight container, they started turning green! i am guessing mold from the un-dried fruit. i've never had that happen before the only thing new i tried was soaking the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe is great. I made adjustments by adding 1/4 cup flour, and doubled the baking soda as suggested by others. I did refrigerate the dough and did not have spreading issues at all. The second batch I used crasins, white vanilla chips and fresh orange zest and oh what a great combo! To keep them from getting too hard, do not overbake. They will not look done, but the time on the cookie sheets finishes them. Also, thank you to the reviewer who suggested truly "beating" the sugars and butters for several minutes. I did, using my KitchenAid and stirred the rest of the ingredients by hand. Hubby is munching them and has a bag packed for work tomorrow! UPDATED 2/14/09: I tried Soft Oatmeal Cookies from this site and it is also very good. Hard to pick a favorite, both are great! So 5 stars for both recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
mmmm-mmmm.... I had to get my hands involved in the mixing and I used 3 bowls, but other than that no complaints. I am sure I made my first batch too big and they got a little teensy bit cakey. I will let you know how my second batch goes tomorrow. Only things I modified was that I just added and extra handful or so of oatmeal since I couldn't be bothered to save that little left-over. And just to highlight how good these are, I am NOT a fan of raisin oatmeal cookies, but I made them as a healthier option for a treat in my kids lunches, and I think they are superb and will be adding them to my usual rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is a very good recipe for Oatmeal Cookies, but I changed it up a bit. I soaked the raisins in a mixture water/apple juice for about an hour. I added 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup butter instead. I also added 1/2 cup of Quaker's Honey Wheat germ and 1 1/2 cups of oats. I was trying to make it a little healthier and hiding some good stuff for the kids. Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I agree - these are the best! I tried it for 2007's Christmas cookie assortment, and it has become a raving classic. Everyone LOVESLOVESLOVES these cookies! I just made a batch to thank a co-worker for a favor, and passed the rest out to other lucky co-workers. It was a very good day at work! A couple of suggestions. I simply rolled the cookies into balls about 1" - didn't flatten them - and they baked up just fine. Also, the dough does get quite stiff, so I just tossed the spoon in the sink and got in there with my hands to mix the oatmeal in. Hey, maybe that's why they're so good! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States