The Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
These cookies are truly the BEST! I've made them several times and they're great every time. I use dried cranberries instead of raisins and walnuts instead of pecans...still, fabulous! I think the soaking of the raisins makes the difference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
these cookies turned out great-but i had a problem i never had before! the few minor changes i made were: subed 1/2 c. of peanut butter for 1/2 c. butter and to quick plump the raisins (i used dried cranberries) i used hot water and vanilla for about 20 min. i saw this in another recipe but had never tried it before. the cookies were moist and chewy the first 2 days but by the third day, stored in an airtight container, they started turning green! i am guessing mold from the un-dried fruit. i've never had that happen before the only thing new i tried was soaking the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe is great. I made adjustments by adding 1/4 cup flour, and doubled the baking soda as suggested by others. I did refrigerate the dough and did not have spreading issues at all. The second batch I used crasins, white vanilla chips and fresh orange zest and oh what a great combo! To keep them from getting too hard, do not overbake. They will not look done, but the time on the cookie sheets finishes them. Also, thank you to the reviewer who suggested truly "beating" the sugars and butters for several minutes. I did, using my KitchenAid and stirred the rest of the ingredients by hand. Hubby is munching them and has a bag packed for work tomorrow! UPDATED 2/14/09: I tried Soft Oatmeal Cookies from this site and it is also very good. Hard to pick a favorite, both are great! So 5 stars for both recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
mmmm-mmmm.... I had to get my hands involved in the mixing and I used 3 bowls, but other than that no complaints. I am sure I made my first batch too big and they got a little teensy bit cakey. I will let you know how my second batch goes tomorrow. Only things I modified was that I just added and extra handful or so of oatmeal since I couldn't be bothered to save that little left-over. And just to highlight how good these are, I am NOT a fan of raisin oatmeal cookies, but I made them as a healthier option for a treat in my kids lunches, and I think they are superb and will be adding them to my usual rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is a very good recipe for Oatmeal Cookies, but I changed it up a bit. I soaked the raisins in a mixture water/apple juice for about an hour. I added 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup butter instead. I also added 1/2 cup of Quaker's Honey Wheat germ and 1 1/2 cups of oats. I was trying to make it a little healthier and hiding some good stuff for the kids. Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I agree - these are the best! I tried it for 2007's Christmas cookie assortment, and it has become a raving classic. Everyone LOVESLOVESLOVES these cookies! I just made a batch to thank a co-worker for a favor, and passed the rest out to other lucky co-workers. It was a very good day at work! A couple of suggestions. I simply rolled the cookies into balls about 1" - didn't flatten them - and they baked up just fine. Also, the dough does get quite stiff, so I just tossed the spoon in the sink and got in there with my hands to mix the oatmeal in. Hey, maybe that's why they're so good! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These cookies were just OK for me...if you don't flatten the cookies when you put them on the tray to bake, they come out soft and cake like...if you flatten them they come out soft and chewey...The dough is sticky so you will need to dip your fingers in flour before you press them down with you fingers otherwise the dough will stick to your fingers in the process of flattening them down on the cookie sheet prior to baking them.I prefer a cookie that's more crispier...if however you like SOFT cookies then this cookie recipe is for you. The taste was good but here again I prefer crispy cookies as opposed to soft ones. Also I sprayed my cookie trays with Baker's Joy because I had a hard time getting cookies off the cookie sheet after baking them even when I cooled them for five minutes on the cookie sheet as recommended in the recipe. UPDATE: When I stored these cookies afer baking them they all "melded" together in about 12 hours time..(meaning they all stuck together in my cookie tin)...My son suggested that, that happened because the cookies were somewhat thin...I slightly flattened each of the teaspoons full of dough before I baked them but that should not have stuck them all together like they did..(they weren't that thin..but they were soft and crumbly...I think maybe two teaspoons full of baking soda that the recipe calls for is too much...then again, maybe I did something else wrong..frankly I don't know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
These are really good cookies. Awesome buttery taste. I 3x the recipe and froze a couple dozen for later. Have 4 kids and a husband that would have eaten them all if I had not done so!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rosemere, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I went in search of a recipe for "The Best Oatmeal Cookies" a few weeks ago, and found this recipe. I have made it twice already. Without a doubt, THE BEST oatmeal cookie I have ever made! A definate keeper. I added a bit more cinnamon the second time. Also left the eggs, raisins and vanilla overnight in the refrigerator, and the cookies turned out even chewier the second time. If you are looking for a great oatmeal cookie, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicevillejen
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is the best oatmeal cookie recipe I've found to date! I followed a previous reviewer's lead, and added an additional cup of rolled oats. I also substituted the raisins for a 1 cup mixture of raisins, golden raisins and dried cranberries. The cookies came out beautifully! They look and taste fantistic! Make sure you don't make them much bigger than a rounded teaspoon and they'll be soft, chewy and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States