The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
great base recipe with perfect cook times. the recipe is pretty flexible to alter to your tastes- i used half 80/20 ground beef and half 80/20 ground pork, and omitted the canned tomato sauce and milk from the meat mix because of the extra moisture the fat would add. i then made my own glaze with ketchup/brown sugar/worcestershire sauce/apple cider vinegar/a splash of balsamic vinegar. it was the perfect meatloaf and made delicious sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is one of the best meatloafs ever. I've made thousands of them before so this recipe looked pretty much like any other one. So, what makes this one so special? Outside of adding sour cream, I think it was baking at 2 temperatures. in this one, you increase the oven temp from 350 to 400 after 40 minutes and continue baking for 15 minutes, then adding the tomato & ketchup topping and baking at 400 for another 10 minutes. A famous chef once told me that people think he leaves an ingredient out of a recipe, but he does not. It's the heat he says. That makes all the difference. perhaps this is the secret to making this recipe so special. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Seale

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Simple and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
The name says it all. It truly is worth the little bit of work it takes. I had actually stopped making meatloaf because I'd never found a recipe that came close to the meatloaf my mom used to make but voila', this recipe is the greatest. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I made this with 1/4 C uncooked oatmeal...and 7 Saltine crackers instead of the breadcrumbs and buttery crackers as specified in the recipe. Makes enough for 8 servings (I made in two portions and froze one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this recipe tonite and altered it somewhat. It was absolutely incredible. I substituted and used sliced italian bread (toasted & chopped), I also used 6 slices of bacon chopped (cooked)in the mixture and placed 3 slices (uncooked) on top. Everyone was thoroughly impressed with my 1st meatloaf. Thank You sillyliltracy!!!! Chalie Mac Hatboro, PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this today and oh my goodness, best I've ever had, definitely making this more often. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was a really good recipe. I did not have any tomato sauce so I took a can of diced tomatoes with green chili's (mild) and pureed it, substituted it one for one; I also substituted Whataburger Spicy Ketchup and this turned out GREAT. I will be making this again. P.S. my kids hate "spicy" and they ate this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
did not like, very mushy. Way to much tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Just made this, but used 1 1/2 cups of Italian bread crumbs in place of the crackers and bread! Phenomenal! Family gobbled it up! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States