The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Thank you Geanine! My husband told me that these were absolutely the best meatballs he had ever tried! I didn't pan fry them in olive oil - I simply dropped them into a crockpot full of homemade spaghetti sauce and let them cook with the sauce all afternoon. Also, I used italian style bread crumbs instead of making my own - just used a third cup less. My husband absconded with the leftovers to take to work this morning, and three people from his office called me today to get the recipe! Will ALWAYS use this recipe for spaghetti and meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
These meatballs were DELICIOUS!!!!! My family loved them and I will definately make them again. I substituted milk for the water and used a little less of the liquid than the recipe called for. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
This recipe is very similar to mine. You don't need to add water. Just soak your bread in milk for about 10 minutes, then squeeze the bread and add to your meat mixture. Also one cup of olive oil is way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Wow, This is the way that I make my meatballs (recipe from my Mom, not some cookbook), but instead of using water, we use milk, and soak the bread in it, and also skip the olive oil browning, as the meat produces enough fat for the browning proceedure. Thanks Geanine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
Delicious! I didn't have Italian bread so I toasted fresh whole wheat bread and then ran it through the food processor - worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I used 1/2 beef, 1/2 pork. Also used store-bought bread crumbs and much less liquid. Very good recipe! Excellent flavors, nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
I am not a great fan of meatballs in spaghetti but my husband is. He thought they were absolutely wonderful and I actually enjoyed them too. Very simple to make. No need to use oil in the pan when you brown the meatballs. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I'd have to say these meatballs were delicious! I didn't add the veal though...it was a little expensive. So, I added a little more pork and beef and it worked out just great. I also added chopped onion for a little extra flavor and then added them to a baked mostaccioli....Mmmmm, Mmmmm...Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
delicious! made them for a big family dinner and everyone loved them! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Very tasty meatballs! I didn't have all the ingredients so I had to use Italian seasoned bread crumbs and 85% lean beef chop meat. Nonetheless, the taste was fantastic! I made a 3lb batch and only used 1/4 a cup of olive oil and it was more than enough! Can't wait to serve them during a trip this weekend! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States