The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
They ARE the best meatballs, even though I use all beef most of the time. I don't fry, b/c I am too impatient, and the meatballs break up more that way. I scoop them out with a spoon, roll them in my hands, and bake on a cake rack in the oven over a foil-lined cookie sheet. This way, they brown nicely, excess fat is drained off, and they can go right into sauce, or, in our family, meatball hoagies, along with sauteed onions and peppers. They also freeze very well when baked this way. When I take these to parties, I always get requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2584 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This is soooo close to my Nonna's authentic Italian recipe! I am telling you, these meatballs ROCK! Uh oh, the word is out!!! How funny! 3 meats, the breadcrumbs, plus 1 egg. You can also use fresh chopped spinach instead of parsley (or 1 pkg frozen, thawed and all water squeezed out) and pecorino romano cheese instead of parmesan. I make sure I have these on hand almost all the time, I use one lb of EACH meat, and it makes 30-40. Instead of frying, I par bake mine on a cookie sheet at 325 for about 10 minutes, then set the tray (if room allows) into the freezer for an hour or so. Pop them off the tray, into a couple of large freezer bags. Meatballs on demand!! Drop them into a sauce or steam in a glass casserole dish for about 5 minutes, they will be medium-well on the inside. Absolute crowd pleaser if you are making a big Italian dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1541 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RookieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I use beef, pork, and veal, as it is readily available in my supermarket. Also, I bake mine instead of frying them, use parchment paper, 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Then, if I have sauce simmering, I drop them in for the finale, or I freeze them for later use, or to give away to the children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Honestly, I was skeptical using water in a meatball recipe, but it was really great! I scaled to 4 servings, used only beef, 85%, 1/2 cup italian style breadcrumbs and Kraft parmesan cheese, as my young children do not yet appreciate the stronger flavor of "real" cheese, and they both said they were the best meatballs ever. Also, I did not fry them, to cut down on fat and clean-up, and they kept their shape just fine. I just put them in the gravy and cooked them on simmer for 30 minutes. The sauce was a simple marinara, just sautee 2 cloves of garlic, add 3 cans of crushed tomatoes, 1 can paste, 3/4 c. water and simmer. Add 1T oregano, 1t. basil, 1t. onion powder, salt and pepper and voila! Geanine and I teamed up to make an awesome dinner! Thanks Geanine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
443 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This IS the best Italian Meatball recipe ever. My ex-mother-in-law gave me this recipe more than 25 years ago. We use italian style breadcrumbs and much less liquid (about 1/4 cup milk). What makes it so good is the ratio of meats. You can adjust the flavorings to suit your family's taste. Once browned, the meatballs can finish cooking in the frypan or by baking, or even add them to the sauce. I would recommend this basic recipe to anyone. Excellent addition to Allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
There is nothing I hate more than to get a mediocre or worse review from people who do not follow the recipe as written, and then judge YOU on it. I followed this to a "T" even though my experience as a chef was telling me not to. Too much cheese. Not enough garlic. And "salt and pepper to taste" is a personal pet peeve. If you are going to post a recipe, include all the measurements, or be prepared to take your lumps. This recipe is good enough to avoid disaster, but DO NOT FRY. They stick to the pan and melt away when you add them to the gravy(tomato sauce). Instead, bake them for about 35 minutes at 350. Then, put them in the gravy for the last hour or two. Replace half the cheese with more breadcrumbs. Less mess, healthier and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIMBOLYA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Thank you Geanine! My husband told me that these were absolutely the best meatballs he had ever tried! I didn't pan fry them in olive oil - I simply dropped them into a crockpot full of homemade spaghetti sauce and let them cook with the sauce all afternoon. Also, I used italian style bread crumbs instead of making my own - just used a third cup less. My husband absconded with the leftovers to take to work this morning, and three people from his office called me today to get the recipe! Will ALWAYS use this recipe for spaghetti and meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Exactly the way I make them, except I don't use quite as much water and I don't fry them. I drop them in the sauce to cook. Makes the sauce taste awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Good, standard recipe. For a variation, try using ground italian sausage in place of the pork, along with some minced onion. I also add anise seed to both the meatballs and my sauce. The anise seed really makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef MongoLloyd

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Wow, This is the way that I make my meatballs (recipe from my Mom, not some cookbook), but instead of using water, we use milk, and soak the bread in it, and also skip the olive oil browning, as the meat produces enough fat for the browning proceedure. Thanks Geanine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States