The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I followed the recipe and made half fried and the other half baked. I personally always fry my meatballs but since they were so flimsy when I fried these, I decided to make them both ways. The meatballs had too much grease on them from the oil in the pan. Ground beef is fatty enough that it shouldn't need it but in this recipe it is absolutely necessary if you expect them to resemble some sort of ball when frying. The water made the meatballs lack any real density and in return, taste. I like my meatballs to have a much heartier taste. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
These were really good! I didn't have any pork or veal, so just used beef. I also upped the garlic for personal preference, and used dried parsley and Italian breadcrumbs because that's what I had on hand. Subbed Parmesan cheese and added some Worcestershire Sauce. Baked in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes instead of frying. Delicious! (And my husband's the meatball fan, not me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I am definitely a meatball purist...using a recipe handed down from my nana.....I tried this meatball recipe on a whim, they were outstanding! I wish my nana were alive today to taste these meatballs...they would make her proud. Tip from nana "Never Fry your meatballs, cook them for 20 minutes in the oven and then finish them in the sauce"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I roughly made one third the recipe it's just two of us. Just used ground beef and made it pretty much as written except I had dried parsley. It was quite delicious and very tender and moist. I think the trick is not to over cook the meatballs because they continue to cook in the sauce and the sauce moistens them. I coated a non-stick fry pan with olive oil and just cooked them over medium heat turning them once really, there was no sticking I'm guessing it's because I used nonstick and beef with 15% fat too lean beef will not be good in this recipe. I used Bertoli sauce which is sweet but very good. We inhaled our dinner, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Bw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jeraldo
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
The recipe is fantastic and incredibly simple to follow for someone like me that normally uses the smoke alarm as a timer. :-). However, they do tend to fall apart too easily - could it be that I used store-bought bread crumbs instead of the more rustic "crumbled stale Italian bread"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I only did hamburger and pork sausage as the meats. Husband said it was the best thing I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
decreased cheese as suggested by other reviewers. baked at 350. came out perfect. also an option to bake 15 then add to sauce. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
These meatballs are the best I've tasted. Great recipe! Easy to make. I have been baking them in the oven only because I'm lazy and dont want to baby sit them in a skillet. ;) I have used hot pork sausage meat instead of ground pork for a little bite. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Next time I'll use a lot less cheese. Don't get it twisted.........they were excellent. But I wanted them to taste like meatballs, not Romano cheese balls. I wasn't able to fully appreciate the taste of the combination of the 3 different meats. Will still make again. You do want to bake them instead of frying 'em. Much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 764) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States