The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Honestly, I was skeptical using water in a meatball recipe, but it was really great! I scaled to 4 servings, used only beef, 85%, 1/2 cup italian style breadcrumbs and Kraft parmesan cheese, as my young children do not yet appreciate the stronger flavor of "real" cheese, and they both said they were the best meatballs ever. Also, I did not fry them, to cut down on fat and clean-up, and they kept their shape just fine. I just put them in the gravy and cooked them on simmer for 30 minutes. The sauce was a simple marinara, just sautee 2 cloves of garlic, add 3 cans of crushed tomatoes, 1 can paste, 3/4 c. water and simmer. Add 1T oregano, 1t. basil, 1t. onion powder, salt and pepper and voila! Geanine and I teamed up to make an awesome dinner! Thanks Geanine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
447 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This IS the best Italian Meatball recipe ever. My ex-mother-in-law gave me this recipe more than 25 years ago. We use italian style breadcrumbs and much less liquid (about 1/4 cup milk). What makes it so good is the ratio of meats. You can adjust the flavorings to suit your family's taste. Once browned, the meatballs can finish cooking in the frypan or by baking, or even add them to the sauce. I would recommend this basic recipe to anyone. Excellent addition to Allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
i don't know that i'd call them the "best" but they were pretty darn good. my 11 year old son is learning to cook and this is the recipe we used, so directions were easy enough to follow. i would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Wow, This is the way that I make my meatballs (recipe from my Mom, not some cookbook), but instead of using water, we use milk, and soak the bread in it, and also skip the olive oil browning, as the meat produces enough fat for the browning proceedure. Thanks Geanine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I used 1/2 beef, 1/2 pork. Also used store-bought bread crumbs and much less liquid. Very good recipe! Excellent flavors, nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Thank you Geanine! My husband told me that these were absolutely the best meatballs he had ever tried! I didn't pan fry them in olive oil - I simply dropped them into a crockpot full of homemade spaghetti sauce and let them cook with the sauce all afternoon. Also, I used italian style bread crumbs instead of making my own - just used a third cup less. My husband absconded with the leftovers to take to work this morning, and three people from his office called me today to get the recipe! Will ALWAYS use this recipe for spaghetti and meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
These meatballs were DELICIOUS!!!!! My family loved them and I will definately make them again. I substituted milk for the water and used a little less of the liquid than the recipe called for. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I make a lot of meatballs and wasn't impressed with this recipe...I never mixed different meats before and was excited to try it, but I couldn't taste the difference and it was much more expensive. I also prefer to bake them on a baking sheet instead of fry them in so much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
I am not a great fan of meatballs in spaghetti but my husband is. He thought they were absolutely wonderful and I actually enjoyed them too. Very simple to make. No need to use oil in the pan when you brown the meatballs. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I'd have to say these meatballs were delicious! I didn't add the veal though...it was a little expensive. So, I added a little more pork and beef and it worked out just great. I also added chopped onion for a little extra flavor and then added them to a baked mostaccioli....Mmmmm, Mmmmm...Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States