The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have never used oregano in my meatballs nor did my grandmothers.. One Sicilian & one from Abruzzi..and they were amazing meatballs.. Very similar to this recipe.. The only "thing" I would say is use Locatelli cheese in the meatballs if you can( it's a brand of Romano) really good stuff! Thank you for sharing, Geanine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe numerous times with three adjustments. Add 1/2 teaspoon each oregano, basil and garlic to mixture. Use milk in place of water and refuce to 3/4 cup. After rolling the meatballs, please on wire rack in baking pan. Bake at 375 degrees for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I know you did not refer to them as Italian Meat Balls but "close enough"....Missing Chopped Onion and maybe black olives...and you would have "perfection"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Luciano
Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My granddaughter said "Nonna, are these from scratch?" as she tasted the meatball!!! Very similar to what I am used to but for some reason(maybe the fresh bread crumbs) they were very delicious and needless to say, the recipe of choice!!! I don't fry - once my sauce is simmering, I drop them in the sauce very carefully and the seasonings even give the sauce more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Great recipe--I also like to bake at about 375 degrees. I use parchment paper instead of foil--they don't stick that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Yes, ok, but not real flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank Arnold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I don't have to try this recipe to know it has to be delicious, The same as amatuer photographer takes hundreds a photos hoping to capture the perfect light and exposure.A great One Knows what he is shooting and only needs a few shots, This recipe is authentic Italian, My fathers mother raise in Naples and my Mothers family from Sicily. The only concern is the water is not needed and can cause complications depending on water vs fat content and that depends on the butcher and what water you use.Maybe better to soak stale Italian bread in water and add to meat while very moist or dripping. The water cooks out anyway. The most important do not over mix. Over mixing causes the juices to come out in the fry pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Fallace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Way too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I am Italian and this is the way I make mine, except I use warmed milk instead of water and mix the bread in it to blend before adding it to the meat. Also instead of the cheese I use onions. I bake them in the oven at 325 degrees for approximately 25 minutes just enough to brown them so they don't fall apart in my sauce. I then drop them into my spaghetti sauce made from scratch to continue to cook. They come out very moist and yummy. I make my meatloaf the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 764) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States