The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
With well over 700 reviews is seems a bit redundant to add another but these were so good I just have to. Like others I baked them in the oven. Started off at 350 but then bumped it up closer to 400. Next time I'll do it all at 375. Took 20 min for the larger balls and about 10 to 12 for the smaller. I placed the larger balls on a cookie rack over a sheet and the smaller ones on parchment lined rimmed sheets. By far the best way is the parchment paper. Super easy clean-up. I have been looking for a long time for the perfect meatball recipe and this is it - I am so happy to finally have this wonderful recipe. Many many huge thanks to Geanine for submitting and thanks also to other reviewers for all their input and suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Like another reviewer, I used equal parts veal, pork and beef (1 lb. each). Sometimes, I throw in an Italian sausage (removed from the casing) or an ounce of shredded ham. I bake them in the oven at 350 for 10-15 minutes, cool completely, then freeze. I make them using a 1 1/2 inch cookie scoop so I can use them for Italian wedding soup as well as spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is a great basic meatball recipe! I modified the recipe for what I had on hand and from reading other reviews. I used 1lb ground Italian pork sausage (such as Jimmy Deans) and 1 pound of ground turkey because it is what I had on hand. I also substituted 1 cup of dried Italian bread crumbs in place of the stale bread and used grated parmesan cheese instead of fresh romano. I also used 1/2 cup milk instead of water. I baked these meatballs in the oven for 30 minutes at 350° and then added them to my sauce. My Husband and I both raved about the meatballs and we over ate because they were so good. We even fought about who got the take the left overs the next day for lunch. Truly a great starter recipe and I love that cheaper/easier substitutions can be made and they are still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTGerl112

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I loved the meatballs I'm glad that I fount it on here. So then I ask my family to dinner at my house and everbody loved the meat balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Have made this meatball for years. I would put in less cheese. The amount of garlic is ok because you probably will cover the meatballs or cook them in sauce (gravy) that has a bunch of garlic in it too. I would bake them for 1/2 hour before I would ever fry them, easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have been making my meatballs like this for several years and they truly are the best. I did make a few adjustments which I think made these even better....I mix the meat, eggs, cheese and fresh parsley first. I use fresh bread and make my own breadcrumbs using my mini food processor. Don't be afraid to go heavy on the fresh bread crumbs as it is what makes these so soft and tender! I then use warm chicken broth( no sodium ) in place of the water as I beleive it adds more flavor! I add about 1/4 cup at a time until the meat is very moist. I prefer to bake the meatballs in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes. I usually make a double batch and freeze some . Add meatballs to the sauce and simmer away. Simply the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lynn
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Definately use fresh breadcrumbs say Geanine, then recipe says stale bread. Brilliant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is "authentic Italian" ... I've been making them this way for over 30 years... I also have made them with ground turkey.. no one knew the difference. You can also bake them and use milk instead of water, tastes just as good.. try a cold meatball with sour cream.. yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is Rao's Italian restaurant in New York City's recipe. I have tried the recipe and they are YUMMY. I did not like Rao's marinara sauce recipe though. I like my own recipe better. Just say'n!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarleneMueller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
meat loaf meat. Grease ballls? Is the grease from the meat incorporated?? meat and eggs in equal amounts to bread crumbs, liquids, and cheese? Or less equal? Grease and cheese taste good. So do fried bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States