The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I'm rating this recipe a 5 even though I made some changes. First change I made was using half the amount of cheese, and using parmesan because that's what I had on hand. Then I used 1 cup milk and 1/4 cup water, letting the eggs and milk come up to room temp. Instead of veal and pork I used a lb of Italian sausage. I baked the meatballs at 400 for 25 mins, put them in sauce and simmered for a half hour. Turned out great! Perfect recipe to use as a guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Just made these. I made some alterations per my personal tastes. I replaced the water with milk, and used 1/2 romano and 1/2 parmesan (freshly grated). I added some dried oregano and granulated garlic to the meat mixture. I baked these in the oven at 375 for about 30 minutes, then browned the tops under the broiler to crisp them up a bit. They're simmering in the sauce right now and the one I sampled was perfection! This is a good recipe to use as a base and I'm glad I found it. Tender, moist and full of flavor. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Boy did Jimboyla (reviewer) nail it. I made this exactly as written as I really don't think it's fair to make too many changes to a recipe and then review it. Too much cheese, not enough garlic, not enough bread crumbs. My meatballs were woefully under-seasoned. I ate one on it's own first - bland. I ate a 2nd one that I added salt and pepper to and it was much better. I hate recipes that say "salt and pepper to taste". That's fine if I'm making a sauce and I can taste as I go (although a starting point would be good i.e. 1/4 tsp. salt and increase to taste). This is raw meat that you can't taste until it's fully cooked and too late. I was worried that the Romano cheese would make them too salty and wish I'd seasoned more heavily. I would also have used twice the garlic. I MAY try these again but kind of doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
My husband made these for me and they were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I had forgotten how good it is to use the blend of the 3 meats. I made a double batch and had some for meatball subs and some for spaghetti and meatballs. They also froze great. Love the use of romano, my personal favorite over parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Love this recipe! however, I don't add veal, just beef and lean pork. Its my go-to recipe for meatballs. I bake them at 350 for about 30 min, and freeze them after they've cooled. Meatballs on demand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
OMG !!! The BEST meatballs I have ever made. Thank You so much for the recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
These are absolutely amazing. I exclude the veal and just increase the beef/pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
It was very good! So good that I made them again (2days later).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This is a delicious recipe, made exactly as stated and I doubled it for a family dinner. This is the second time I have made these. The first time I baked them on parchment paper ,lined cookie sheet , 350 for 45 mins. Then transferred to slower cooker and covered them with a marinara sauce for a potluck. These freeze perfectly for a special occasion, just thaw and put in a slower cooker with a favourite sauce. I took them to a spring potluck and my sauce was BBQ & orange marmalade, these went well with potato salad, macaroni salad etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 692) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States