The Best Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
A nice treat for Thanksgiving dinner! I eye-balled all the ingredients, using dried chives which reconsituted nicely in water, so they're soft and like fresh. I didn't add milk (which I always do for mashed potatoes), but these came out great without it. Did add about 1 Tblsp of sour cream though. Delicious, creamy, gourmet-like mashed potatoes. Happy Thanksgiving, and thanks Christina for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
These really were the best mashed potatoes ever. I added a little half and half and it really made it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Too gluey and too much chive and cheese flavor. I wish I had read the poor reviews before I started cooking. Hoping I can salvage this with their tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Simple and easy potatoes to make. I followed Chef Johns video instructions and they turned out great. I have made my potatoes in the past with chive and onion cream cheese and that made my potatoes taste great! I like both recipes, but this one has less fat and taste great. I made mine with 2% milk too! If you like Garlic add that when you season with salt and pepper. I actually only seasoned with Cajun seasoning the first time I made these...mistake of grabbing the wrong spice. Still amazing. Great recipe to use and add your own spices too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This recipe was very good I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
These were great, they are the new everyday mashed potato for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
With a few minor adjustments to suit my family's taste, this recipe made the best mashed potatoes we've ever had! I used only 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese and scaled the cream cheese down to 3/4 cup. I had to use about 1/4 cup heavy cream to get the right consistency. Soooo gooood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have to adjust a lot of recipes since I get migraines from garlic. I made half the amount stated and left out the chives and the garlic. It was very, very good and the first time I didn't have to throw left overs in the trash. LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I've actually done a similar recipe to this most of the time, i just never used Parmesan cheese. somehow the potato peeler went missing, and i was not sure how i was going to get it all done, so i just cut them into large wedges and discs and boiled them in salted water with 2 cubes of chicken bullion after they finished cooking i tossed in two sticks of salted butter, a block of philly 1/3 less fat cream cheese, just dumped in the Parmesan in approximation to my potatoes (don't think i had quite 5lbs,) and palm fulls of salt and a little lighter on the pepper. One other thing i did different was instead of hand mash, i had a hand mixer and when i taste tested, these are SUPER creamy, the flavor is delicious, and there are still little bits of skin here and there from what didnt get peeled off and these potatoes are just amazing. this will be my recipe from now on. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Why does this recipe not specify grated or shredded parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States