The Best Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I used 3 lbs. of Yukon potatoes. I kept the butter amount the same, but only used 4 oz. of cream cheese. I didn't have fresh chives so I used about a tablespoon of dried. I only used 1/3 c. of parmesan cheese and added 1/4 c. of hot whole milk. I also upped the garlic just a bit, to two minced cloves. With my alterations, these are KILLER. Even my husband who isn't huge on dinner compliments raved about these and went back for seconds. They are so rich and decadent. I wouldn't make them all the time but every now and again is a nice change from my standard mashed potato recipe. This mashed potato dish compliments the Awesome Pot Roast really well. EDITED TO ADD 10/07/08: I suggest you try my modifications, double the recipe and eat the leftovers the next day. They are insane good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
WOW! not to brag, but the changes i made to this recipe...i truly think they were the best mashed potatoes i have ever eaten. used about 7 medium russet potatoes, 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup heavy cream, 1 stick REAL butter, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, 2 cloves garlic (mashed up), sea salt, and cracked black pepper. the KEY to making mashed potatoes creamy is NOT to over mix. set your mixer on about a "4" and mix until it resembles the texture of frosting. also, scrape the sides once about halfway thru the mixing. be careful not to fold too much when you scrape...all that GOOD mixing you are doing to FLUFF your potatoes will be wasted! total...i mix for about 1.5 minutes, scrape the sides, and mix for another 1.5-2.5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberwrites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I would give the flavor of these potatoes 5 stars. I would give the recipe as written 3 stars-- my compromise is 4. I used 3# of potatoes for 3 people and we had a good bit leftover. I eyeballed the other ingredients and kept tasting them until it had the flavor I wanted. They're very good, but the recipe is way off as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I surprised no one else questioned this, but the recipe says to use 1 pound of potatoes. 1 pound of potatoes is probably one potato. I used 8 since it was supposed to make eight servings. I had to use twice as much butter and add milk just to be able to stir the potatoes. I also only used about half the garlic it called for and it was still extremely strong. It was ok, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Made exactly according to the recipe, the consistency is like glue. Way too much cheese for the amount of potatoes. If I made these again I would follow the advice of other reviewers who recommend scaling back on the amount of cream cheese and adding some milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This recipe was very delicious! To make the mixture more garlicky, I boiled several garlic cloves with the potatoes; when they were soft they were easier to blend with the mixture. I, like previous others, thought the mixture needed some added smoothness. Milk solved the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
These are so easy that I make them all the time. I do have to add a bit of milk because they tend to get a little dry. I also like to add some shredded cheese (for cheese lover hubby). These are great. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
realy good, i add a bit of sour cream into the mix and their perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Very good flavor, but consistency was not what I was expecting. Agree that you need to scale back on the cheese and add some milk to achieve more creamy texture. I'll definitely make again with the adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
the key here and with any mashed potato recipe is to return the drained potato to the stove and on a low heat DRY THEM added moisture always makes potatoes like glue !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States