The Best Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Okay, I am not a great cook - No, I mean it! This was my first attempt at making homemade mashed potatos and I just have to say that it was fantastic! This recipe is soooooo easy and the results were really tasty. I followed the recipe to the letter and they were delicious. My kids were so impressed. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariettaKelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Added 1/2 cup sour cream. Used russets. Will try yukon golds next time. Best mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
So I cheated a little and consolidated this recipe with the "night-before" mashed potato recipe... I had to make them for Thanksgiving (which was at my aunt's house, about two hours away, and to avoid traffic, we had to get up and drive there 10 hrs before dinner would be served). Only SUBSTITUTING half the parmesan cheese for it's equivalence of sour cream, garlic salt for the garlic since I didn't have any on hand, omitted the chives for the same reason, garnished with sprinkles of paprika, freshly grated salt and pepper, then baked the refrigerated mashed potatoes at 350 degrees, for 15-20 minutes... THEY WERE A HUGE HIT! Creamy, whipped-like, and flavorful. People who said that they didn't even LIKE mashed potatoes went back for seconds! I was nominated official mashed potato maker for every holiday occasion =) And there were leftovers of almost every other dish, except for these, which was almost licked off the entire tray, AND people were still asking if there were more. I had tripled the recipe! You just can't go wrong. Thanks for the recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Incredibly easy, and wonderful flavor. I will be replacing my stand-by recipe with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this for thanksgiving and they where a huge hit!! Everyone loved them and wanted to know the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I loved the amount of garlic and chives in this recipe. We left out the cream cheese but they were amazing even without it. They were even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
5 stars on the flavor, but I think this recipe needs some milk added due to dryness. Next time I will add some milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and no one could get the mashed potatoes off their spoons it was that thick. Perhaps I used too much cream cheese ??? It was thick paste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
A bit heavy on the garlic, but a great and easy recipe for a first time cook like me. My family loved it. Cooking time for potatoes was longer than 15 min. The store I went to was out of Yukon Gold potatoes so I used red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I thought these were pretty good. But I was extremely surprised there is not milk or cream in them. I followed the directions as written and they were way to dry. I added a whole pint of heavy whipping cream and they came out awesome. I will definitely make these again with the added cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tburton1219

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States