The Best Lemon Tart Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Tangy and delicious! Let me start with the crust which is sent from the bakery Gods to give us an idea of what heaven is like. This crust is crazy easy to make and tastes just like a shortbread cookie. It puffs up a bit when it cooks, but shrinks back down as it cools. It was hard not to eat it alone! The filling is a nice balance to the crust. It is very tart (much more so than a lemon meringue....think lemon bar from the bakery), which I love. I will make this again but I would blend the sugar up in a processor first to make it a finer grain and help it dissolve better. It was pretty grainy, so I found I had to whisk the filling for quite a while to get most of the sugar blended in. Also, FYI the pie did not set in the oven! The recipe says to cook it until set, so I had it in for almost 35 minutes. But it actually did not set until it cooled. When it does, its a very pretty presentation (see photo). I sprinkled with confectioners sugar and topped with homemade whipped cream and homemade raspberry sorbet. Perfect after an Italian meal. Thanks so much ChefChristi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very good and super easy. I made it exactly as per the recipe except my tart pan is 11 inches. It worked out great, crust was nice and thick and the filling set fine in the oven for me in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Lovely, beautiful, yummy, delicious were among the few comments I received when I brought this lemon tart to morning tea at Uni this morning. Everyone raved about it and I had 2 request for the recipe and of course I told them I got it from here. Love the mix of tangy, sweet and crunch and yes I agree with AZ93, the crust itself, on its own, is yummy :D. I also love the fact that the filling doesn't have cream in it for personal reasons but, if you do prefer it to be creamy, you can always add a dollop of whipped cream on top of it. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks, ChefChristi1221 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I double this recipe and bake it in a large 9x13 pan, and extend the baking time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this recipe for my husband on his birthday. He loved it and I think it is any easy recipe to follow. I loved the shortbread cookie crust and the lemon filling is very delicious. You can't go wrong with this wonderful recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Talamantez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Okay, this is just amazing! Definitely the best lemon tart I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crazyaboutcake96

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe and let me tell you it was to die for. The crust was so soft and I even made shortbread cookies with it. The filling was so lemony and sour and I love that I do recommend trying this because once you try it, it will become your top lemon tart recipe! I'm telling you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This recipe was PERFECT! I made exactly how much the recipe yeilded and it was gone in a night. It was a great balance of tangy and sweet, my mom couldn't get enough and even asked for the recipe! The crust was soft and delicious. I'm definitely going to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Absolutely perfect combination of sweet and sour! Love how lemony this is, I'll try this next with a brown sugar meringue, but the dusting of icing sugar was great too. The only thing I did was to reduce cooking time on the tart crust, and increase cooking time on the filled tart. I've made this 3 times now and the filling didn't set any of the times without adding about 10 mins. The tart crust got just a tad overdone this way, so I'd reduce the baking time slightly when baking the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was deceivingly simple to make, tasted delicious, and looked beautiful! I skipped the sprinkling of powdered sugar and piped on some whipped cream for decoration around the outer edge and in the center. It was a huge hit with my guests! Very lemony and smooth with a fantastic shortbread crust. I'm definitely keeping this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States