The Best Lemon Tart Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Tangy and delicious! Let me start with the crust which is sent from the bakery Gods to give us an idea of what heaven is like. This crust is crazy easy to make and tastes just like a shortbread cookie. It puffs up a bit when it cooks, but shrinks back down as it cools. It was hard not to eat it alone! The filling is a nice balance to the crust. It is very tart (much more so than a lemon meringue....think lemon bar from the bakery), which I love. I will make this again but I would blend the sugar up in a processor first to make it a finer grain and help it dissolve better. It was pretty grainy, so I found I had to whisk the filling for quite a while to get most of the sugar blended in. Also, FYI the pie did not set in the oven! The recipe says to cook it until set, so I had it in for almost 35 minutes. But it actually did not set until it cooled. When it does, its a very pretty presentation (see photo). I sprinkled with confectioners sugar and topped with homemade whipped cream and homemade raspberry sorbet. Perfect after an Italian meal. Thanks so much ChefChristi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Lovely, beautiful, yummy, delicious were among the few comments I received when I brought this lemon tart to morning tea at Uni this morning. Everyone raved about it and I had 2 request for the recipe and of course I told them I got it from here. Love the mix of tangy, sweet and crunch and yes I agree with AZ93, the crust itself, on its own, is yummy :D. I also love the fact that the filling doesn't have cream in it for personal reasons but, if you do prefer it to be creamy, you can always add a dollop of whipped cream on top of it. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks, ChefChristi1221 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very good and super easy. I made it exactly as per the recipe except my tart pan is 11 inches. It worked out great, crust was nice and thick and the filling set fine in the oven for me in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I double this recipe and bake it in a large 9x13 pan, and extend the baking time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Absolutely perfect combination of sweet and sour! Love how lemony this is, I'll try this next with a brown sugar meringue, but the dusting of icing sugar was great too. The only thing I did was to reduce cooking time on the tart crust, and increase cooking time on the filled tart. I've made this 3 times now and the filling didn't set any of the times without adding about 10 mins. The tart crust got just a tad overdone this way, so I'd reduce the baking time slightly when baking the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Great recipe, loved by all who have eaten the 20 or so that I've made. I use 2/3 of the crust recipe to even out the pie dough in the pie pan. I use the side of my fingers to nudge the material into place to get even thickness where the sides meet the bottom. 113 grams (1/2 cup) butter - instead of 3/4 in the recipe 67 grams (1/3 cup) granulated sugar 129 grams flour (this is 2/3 of 1 3/4 cups) Healthy pinch of salt 1/2 - 1 tsp vanilla Shave chilled butter with a cheese grater into sugar. Mix with pastry blender, add vanilla and salt, then flour. Use the pastry blender. Press into the pie pan with your hands to feel a uniform thickness, only 2/3 up the side of the pan otherwise the shortbread will break up. I chill the crust for at least 45 minutes. Heat the oven to 350 and bake the crust for 15-18 minutes on the lower rack. Let the crust chill before baking with the filling in it. No modifications to filling, except more lemon zest to kick it up a notch. Bake 30 minutes. Cool overnight. Get ready to be loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakenude

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
10 minutes after I put it in the oven the filling had boiled over. A complete mess inside my oven. THUMBS DOWN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I only used the recipe for the filling and found that it was not that tart and tangy. Was rather sweet for my taste. Also, it did not come out all that yellow and lemon tart looking at all! Try another recipe if you can...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
The tart was very tart. It was eatable with tea. The next day it tasted much better, not so tart. The crust was nice and crisp. I made it as written except I used 12' tart pan and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Okay, this is just amazing! Definitely the best lemon tart I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crazyaboutcake96

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States