The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
The recipe was amazing! They tasted great, the only thing was that the filling was a little runny and I wasn't able to cook it for longer without the crust burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I made this, and everyone loved it! I followed the suggestions here to add more lemon juice to the curd. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ezra Fox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
It was fabulous!!! The only problem I had was I didn't mix it all the way and a dark yellow layer appeared on top from the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very tasty, but I would cut the sugar back to 1 1/4 cups in the lemon layer and be sure to cook it in a 9 x 13 dish as I used the 8" square and it took much longer to cook the bottom layer and both the bottom layer and the lemon layer were too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I loved them! It's so easy that even my I-cannot-bake-mother made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I am a lemon recipe connoisseur! These are the easiest, best tasting lemon bars I have ever made! A couple of tips: I always use a glass pan when baking lemon recipes, because the crust and edges are less likely to darken and crisp up too much. If using a metal pan, dark or not, I lessen the temperature by at least 10 degrees and even more for a dark metal pan. Sometimes bake times must be at lower temp and for longer time, and you can use your best judgment by looks during baking. I agree whole-heartedly with MommyFromSeattle: Use at least 2/3 cup of lemon juice and add lemon zest if you have it! This time I did not have fresh lemons on hand, so I used lemon juice from the bottle and added 2 teaspoons of organic lemon flavoring and used her advice to add the extra Tablespoon of flour for the filling. This allows for that extra tart, super-sweet pop of flavor! Instead of icing, I like to sift powdered sugar over the top, and one can do this immediately after baking to keep it from poofing up everywhere, and a little extra after bars are plated makes for gorgeous presentation! Another thing I like to do with lemon bars is add crushed mint to my crust. I added two teaspoons of crushed mint this time, and I think it was the perfect hint to complement the lemon flavor without tasting overwhelmingly of mint. I did make one substitution: I used half cup of butter half cup of coconut oil. I think this recipe would also work for a graham crust, and plan to try it soon! Mmm-MM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
It also taste good with whole wheat flour and with sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
i love this recipe! as a chef, this is exactly the kind of recipe i like, it's simple and delicious. however, i prefer my lemon bars to pack more of a lemony punch, so i added 1 tablespoon of very finely grated lemon peel to the lemon mixture, and i added a tablespoon of cornstarch to the crust to make it less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Emma Luft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
These are super easy to make and really delicious. I did alter the recipe a bit after reading reviews. I squeezed enough lemons so that I had slightly over 1/2 cup of lemon juice. I added an add'l tablespoon of flour. The crust is delicious. I'm making these for co-workers - so hopefully they will like them as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I didn't change anything to the recipe. It was very good! I think I would've enjoyed more if there was more filling and less crust though. Otherwise very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States