The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I say it was ok because I did read a lot of pros and cons. 20mins is not sufficient for the crust part... literally need to keep it in the oven until the edges are golden. Also, the juice of 2 lemons is not enough. like the majority of ppl said: you need to add ? cup of lemon juice. Other than that, it's a pretty easy and I recommend it to every one! AWESOME TASTE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I haven't had much luck with lemon bars in the past, but these turned out great! Just the right crust-to-filling ratio for a cake pan. I used a non-stick pan, and the crust turned out slightly crispy on the bottom. Just perfect! I wanted to know exactly how much juice I used, so I measured how much juice I got from my 2 lemons and added just a little more bottled lemon juice to make exactly 1/2 cup. (I rarely have fresh lemons in the house.) I did add some lemon zest and topped with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I found that the bars were better the second day. The first day, I could taste the flour in the lemon filling. Big turnoff. Two stars. The next day, pure lemon yumminess! Five stars. (I used 1/2 c. lemon juice and zest in the crust and the filling.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great recipe. I've been using this for years. The first time I made them, my husband felt they weren't tart enough. So, as others stated, I used more lemon juice and I also used the lemon rind from both lemons. Rind is used in lots of recipes like this and it adds a really nice flavor. Remember to use a little more flour though if you add more lemon juice so they set right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
It was quite confusing, when i was putting the ingredients in the bowl i mix them then i read that the 4 eggs&etc. where supposed to be for the sauce so the sauce ingredients where put into the bar mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I was not at all impressed with this dish. I feel like I wasted my time and ingredients in this dish. Hardly tasted like lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Amazing lemon bars. I added the zest of one lemon, plus 1/4 tsp of salt. I couldn't fathom not including them. Anything with lemon juice is elevated to the next level with zest and salt is necessary to enhance depth of flavor. It did not alter the consistency of the batter whatsoever. Oh man, they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I am a huge fan of anything lemon. For me, this was not lemony enough. The first time I make a recipe, I follow it exactly. The crust is fantastic though and our guests devoured them. I will make them again, but, will follow the other reviewers advice and add more lemon and the zest as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Loved the crust! Will add more lemon for our taste. Used 6 T. lemon juice and didn't have the tang that we crave. Minor for an easy, go-to recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I make these lemon bars for kids at my daughters school. They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States