The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was a really average lemon bar recipe. It wasn't terrible but it wasn't tart enough. I think it needed less sugar and more lemon flavor. The crust was very sweet, I would definitely add some zest to it next time. I used Meyer lemons, which may have been the problem with the sweetness. I would cut back on the sugar all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
awesome. see paper recipe box for changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Honestly, I'm not awfully happy with this recipe. The crust ended up way too thick and crumbled easily, and the edges burned - 40 minutes in the oven is way too much. I'll try to experiment around with the ingredients and reduce the time in the oven to 30 minutes next time, see if I can make these into truly the best lemon bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christian Christov

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very yummy. It's true that, although it goes against my instinct, it's better for these to be slightly overlooked than undercooked. Next time, I will make them in a 9x9 pan so they are thicken. 1/2 tsp salt in the crust is good. 3 lemons are good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was my first time making lemon bars. I was nervous because of some of the bad reviews, but maybe their ovens aren't cooking at the right temperature or something. I followed the recipe exactly, using two very large lemons (which yielded about 2/3 cup juice), and it turned out delicious! I let the pan cool completely on a wire rack and then put it in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes before cutting it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Yum!!! I used 2/3 cup of lemon juice and extra flour as previously suggested and salted butter for crust. Cooked the crust a little longer. Delicious!! Great consistency!! Will use again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
These were delicious. I used about 1/3 cup of fresh lemon juice and also used about 1 tsp of lemon zest. I followed cooking times pretty much exactly, my only mistake perhaps was leaving the crust in to bake maybe a min too long(I went over by a min because it didn't seem "golden") It made the crust a little darker than I would have liked once the final product was cut. Still tasted delicious though. Next time I will stick to the original cooking time for sure. Also I made in a glass 9x13 Pyrex and it stuck a little to the pan. I wonder If I definitely should have only used a non stick pan or even then lined it with tinfoil? I will research this next time before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
OMG! These are devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
crust stuck in UNGREASED dish. I would recommend a light coat of cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Needed a bit more lemon for me; Next time i'll use 4 and then add the zest to the top fresh out of the oven (edit after a night in the fridge they taste more tart so 2 is probably right if they are bigger lemons )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States