The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2015
Delicious and lemony!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
these lemon bars taste wonderful! However, I used a smaller casserole dish and since the recipe calls for 9x13 pan and gives you cooking time for that I didn't cook my crust long enough, and it became soggy once I added the custard and cooked it. It seems too that maybe you could use a little less butter than what's called for in the Crust (at least if using a smaller dish). I used lemon juice from a plastic lemon bc it's all I had and it turned out delicious anyway- I used the whole thing. I'm sure it would be even better with real lemon juice. Next time I'll know what to do. And I will definitely make these again! Delicious!!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Mueller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Nguyen
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
I made the following changes based on the reviews I saw here: -used a little over 1/2 cup lemon juice -a tiny bit of salt to the crust My own changes: -only 1 cup sugar used for the lemon filling -vanilla sugar added to lemon filling I was scared to see how much sugar goes into this as I measured everything out. I decided to put less sugar in the filling, making it a lot more tarty. I thought this worked nicely because the crust was really sweet and buttery anyway. This was my first time making lemon bars and they came out great! Everyone loved them, and I already have requests to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Nguyen
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
These turned out very well. I did make a couple of small adjustments though. To the cookie dough I added the zest of two lemons, about a teaspoon of vanilla and a pinch of salt. I used a half cup of fresh lemon juice and the zest of one lemon for the filling. I used an 8 by 11 inch pan because that was what I had and they came out beautifully. The next time I make these wonderful lemon squares, I'm going to try doubling the filling which is lovely and lemony. Thank you Patty for a great recipe. I'll absolutely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Becking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HurdBird
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Truly The BEST Lemon Bars! I will definitely keep this as a staple dessert recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
These came out heavenly!!! I loved them and so did my mum. The only problem was that they got stuck in the pan. But that's a problem with my pan and not with the recipe. I'm buying a new pan and trying this out again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Made to recipe. Was excellent and everyone loved them. Easy to reduce sugar and/or make more tart depending on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I made this for a crowd that I was not sure even liked lemon bars. They were a hit! People were have 2, 3 and 4 that night. I did take some reviewers advice and used 2/3 cup of lemon juice because "2 lemons, juiced" is a little vague and some zest. These truly are the BEST! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
these truly are the best lemon bars ever!theyre nice, gooey and thick. just right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliette b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I've tried making other lemon bar recipes, and have never liked the way they turned out. These are AWESOME! As others have suggested, I use 2/3 cup of lemon juice, and about a tsp. of zest. I also make sure I cook the crust long enough so they'll hold up when you cut them into bars, around 25 min. My extended family now ask if I can make my 'perfect lemon bars' for their parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States