The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LuckyDog2000
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I enjoyed these lemon bars but unfortunately I can't say they are the BEST lemon bars. I had to add more lemon than written to get a tarter flavor, and in the end the filling was so gooey and never really firmed up. Also the crust was too flour-y and needed more butter. However, they were still consumed within 4 days so we must have done something right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
These are amazing ! I made two batches. The first was exactly how the recipe was written ( used 1/2 cup lemon juice) and these were fantastic. Week later we were invited to a picnic and I decided to make these again, but noticed just how much sugar is in this recipe(2 full cups!) So I made these again with the following changes: Reduced the sugar in the crust from 1/2 cup to 1/4 cup and reduced the sugar in the lemon mixture from 1-1/2 cups to just 1 cup. So 3/4 of a cup less sugar and these still turned out great ! They disappeared quickly at the picnic amidst lots of compliments !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
i thought it was delicious and soft, sweet, and great thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kokobug Keel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe! I will usually double the filling since I love that lemony filling! :) SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of adding a bit more lemon juice. The lemon filling didn't even cover all of the crust! Huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Handy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
These lemon bars are addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is a great recipe! for fun, i added teal food coloring to the crust just to make it colorful. the crust was a little bit mushy since i added water to it to get the coloring mixed in, but it is still great and reccomendable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
These are awesome! The only change I made was that I used 2/3 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice and added 1 tbsp more of flour to the lemon mixture as well as some lemon zest. It turned out amazing and everyone loved them. This recipe is definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
My Aunt insists that I make these every time I visit. It has become a family favorite. I usually decrease the sugar a little and it still turns out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I've made these a couple times now and they're always a hit! I've dinked around a bit, and thought I'd report my findings. I make sure to use at least 1/3 cup lemon juice, with a tbsp extra of flour in the custard to compensate for the texture. I throw in the zest from one lemon. Before I juice, I make sure to microwave the lemons and roll them around on the counter for max yield! I wasn't a fan of adding salt to the crust - I thought it added a strange, unneeded flavor. Finally, when the bars are done (and probably better to undercook a tad than get them too chewy), I dust them very lightly with powered sugar. Overall, this is an excellent recipe that even non sweets fans can enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States