The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Followed recipe to the T but it was terrible. Maybe 2 eggs next time for less eggy favor. I put 3 small lemons in. Terrible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by julianarenee
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this recipe but cut the portions in half, came out good but since I didn't do the full amount for 36 servings it was pretty small and flat. I used lemon extract instead of lemons and it still tasted great. If I could do it again I would do the 36 servings instead of 18. It was an extremely easy recipe for me, a 15 year old, to follow :) also if you put some confectioners sugar on top it tastes amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
It was delicious! Made exactly as written and my family loved it. I used 2 Lemons (which came out to 2/3 cup). Thanks a bunch, will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Just made these bars tonight for my boyfriend's kids, and it's an absolute success. The boys definitely loved them. This is a great recipe - love it! Can't wait to make them again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
These are my go-to lemon bars. The only issue I have is that the crust tends to be thicker than the lemon part and "drowns out" the lemony flavor which is the best bit! So I could see like "three-quartering" the crust recipe or doubling the lemon part if you like them more lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Wow. I have never made lemon bars before but love them. These were so easy and tasted terrific. Followed other suggestions and used the 2/3 cup lemon juice plus extra flour. Everyone loved thse. I will make these again and again. So much tastier than the box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dairy Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I am going to use this recipe from now on. I did add 2/3 c lemon juice and 1 Tbsp more flour in the lemon mix. Crust is crunchy, which is what i prefer. I line the pan with aluminum foil so that I can pull it out and cut into squares. I had to bake the crust almost 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kingmary
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I absolutely loved these bars. I took the advice from other comments & increased the lemon juice to 2/3 cup (3 lemons) & then added an additional tablespoon of flour to it. I also added lemon zest the the crust. My topping came out a little frothy out of the oven, but it didn't matter once I put the powdered sugar on top. I let them cool on the counter & then placed them in the fridge. After about 2 hours I was able to cut them & remove them from the pan. Definitely will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
For sure the best lemon bar recipe I've used on this site. Tasted very good and baked well, tart but sweet. Some lemon bars have that unpleasant eggy aftertaste to them... these do not at all. I like the simplicity of the ingredients using only 4 eggs. I used 2/3 cup lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I MAKE these all the time and i also add a dusting of conf sugar to them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States