The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I've tried lots of recipes for lemon bars and this is the simplest and best. I'm not a big egg lover and many recipes have an "eggy" aftertaste that this one does not. I've made this recipe with both lemons and limes, and while my personal favorite is lime, people rave about both. I do some part time catering and people ALWAYS ask about this recipe - it never fails to draw compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Not lemony enough with a half cup of lemon juice. Much too thin. Flavor was blah, needs salt and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is a family favorite, one that my husband asks for constantly!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Louise Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Very good! Simple to make. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe to the tee. I was not too excited about it. The crust was too thick and it did taste like there was way too much flour in it. My fix for it was making a blueberry sauce to drizzle over the top of the bars and it turned out wonderful. I used one half pint of fresh blueberries 3/4 cup white sugar and the juice and zest of one large lemon, bring to a boil stirring occasionally and let cool. Maybe I should have followed the advice from the other comments and used another lemon and less flour, so maybe next time. If there is one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I made two regular pans and a half recipe with gluten-free flour and they all came out excellent!! They were always my brothers favorite, and his bday was on the first of September, so we ate them in his honor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I have used this recipe many times. It's my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
These were lovely. I made exactly according to recipe and they came out beautifully. The perfect crust to lemon curd ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Excellent, excellent, excellent! This has become my "go to" lemon bar recipe!! It is ALWAYS a hit...and it's easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina836048

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is a brilliant recipe. The crust was just amazing. I think instead of 4 eggs you can use 3. And for more lemon flavour add some lemon zest. This is a easy and tasty reciepe. My 11 year old sister could make it. So I was suprised and I also made it with her. There is a lot of balance in this lemon square. The lemon batter is very sweet while the crust isn't sweet at all. So if you eat it together it will just taste AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States