The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I made this using the suggestions MommyFromSeattle gave, and found the recipe to be okay. I would suggest using more than the 2/3c fresh lemon juice--I found that not to be tart enou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
These are the best I have ever tasted. However, do not use a clay pan to make these in. Did that the first time and it was not a good result. They were still fantastic and everyone ate them up. I also did as others had mentioned and increased the lemon juice amount to 2/3 cup and used a little bit of lemon zest as well. I used fresh lemons as friends who have lemon trees around here are passing them out to me like crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Easy and best bars to make. Love all the comments and I agree increase the lemon juice to 3/3 of a cup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Roach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I love making these bars. They are a big hit in the nursing home I work at. I truly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Velasquez
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Very tasty, although personally I think they could have used a little more tartness and lemon zest. (Other people were fairly evenly split on whether they were perfect or needed more lemon.) Following previous suggestions, I used 1/3 cup + 2 Tbsp. of lemon juice, added the zest of 1/2 lemon, and increased the flour to 1/3 cup, but next time I will add another 2 Tbsp of lemon juice and use the zest of an entire lemon. However, the lemon layer did set beautifully (in contrast to other lemon bar recipes I have tried), and the crust was wonderfully rich-tasting--I used salted butter, which gave a lovely flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I increase the amount of lemon for more lemony bars and double the amount of crust because I like them thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was a really average lemon bar recipe. I think it needed less sugar and more lemon flavor. The crust was very sweet, I would definitely add some zest to it next time. I used Meyer lemons, which may have been the problem with the sweetness. I would cut back on the sugar all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
The crust ended up way too thick and crumbled easily, and the edges burned - 40 minutes in the oven is way too much. I'll try to experiment around with the ingredients and reduce the time in the oven to 30 minutes next time, see if I can make these into truly the best lemon bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christian Christov

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very yummy. It's true that, although it goes against my instinct, it's better for these to be slightly overlooked than undercooked. Next time, I will make them in a 9x9 pan so they are thicken. 1/2 tsp salt in the crust is good. 3 lemons are good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States