The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
good, but too much of the cookie part and not enough lemon. I suggest 1 1/2 the lemon glaze part and 3/4 the cookie part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Great Recipe! I have tried several recipes on this site for Lemon Bars and this is by far the best. The only changes I made was to add an extra 1/3 cup of sugar to the crust and I juiced 3 lemons and used the zest from 2, I think anything less and there would not have been much lemon flavor. Also, make sure you "PAM" your cooking dish well or these will stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This is my 4th time making this recipe and I absolutely love it. I like to cook the crust for a little longer (5 minutes) for an extra crisp. But absolutely delicious and everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Perfect! Made a double batch for sharing and they went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVVYSCRAPPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I added two tablespoons of lemonade powder, frozen lemonade concentrate to both the crust and filling mixtures. I then put a knife edge on an old spoon and scraped the lemon out adding this to the filling. Sprinkled coconut atop and baked for thirty minute. Lemon bars on steroids. I substituted oranges in a second batch. The textures were to die for. I served them at a family party. Their Half-Life was twenty minutes. The grandkids lined up for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Good base recipe, but there need's to be a little salt to bring out the butter in the crust as well as more lemon to the custard. I use about 1/2 cup to make it to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I used 4 small lemons and put zest in the crust, filling, and on top after I doused the warm bars with powered sugar. Everyone loved them. I also added another tablespoon of flour to the filling to compensate for adding more lemon juice. I used parchment paper and made a sling to pull the cooled bars out to cut easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Here's a tip: do NOT use a strainer when juicing the lemons. No. I've made one batch w/out straining the lemon juice and just picking out the seeds and they were amazing. Second time I used a strainer to catch the seeds and the lemon bars had barely any lemon flavor at all. Otherwise really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is FABULOUS! I made an amalgam of modifications based upon other user's hints, including adding lemon zest, warming lemons 15 seconds in microwave before squeezing, doubling filling to get a thick bar, baking longer. I needed a LOT - 2 9 x 13 Pyrex baking dishes. Here's exactly what I did: Crust: 2 Cups soft butter, 1 Cup white sugar, 4 Cups all purpose flour, 2 tsps lemon zest. I creamed the butter with a hand mixer, added the sugar gradually, added the zest, added the flour 1 cup at a time. I divided the dough between the two Pyrex dishes. Do not bother trying to pat dough up sides of dish..it just melts and slides down the side so you might as well just pat it out evenly over the bottom and forget the sides. Bake at 350 for 20 min. till slightly brown and remove from oven. Filling: 6 Cups white sugar, 3/4 cup flour, 2 1/2 Cups lemon juice,16 eggs, 1 T. lemon zest. Mixed sugar & flour with whisk, added lemon juice, added zest, added the eggs which had been beaten separately. I beat all for a couple of minutes with a hand mixer, till smooth, no lumps. This, I divided between the two pans of hot, prepared, baked dough, evenly. I returned the dishes to the oven and baked them for 30 minutes more, removed from oven, and sprinkled heavily with powdered sugar while still hot, and let cool. They come out of Pyrex very easily. I used 1 1/2 c. fresh squeezed lemon juice and 1 c. bottled because I ran out of lemons. It came out just wonderful!! Thanks to Patty et al..:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Perfection!! This recipe is by far the best recipe I've found for lemon bars! My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States