The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Good base recipe, but there need's to be a little salt to bring out the butter in the crust as well as more lemon to the custard. I use about 1/2 cup to make it to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I used 4 small lemons and put zest in the crust, filling, and on top after I doused the warm bars with powered sugar. Everyone loved them. I also added another tablespoon of flour to the filling to compensate for adding more lemon juice. I used parchment paper and made a sling to pull the cooled bars out to cut easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Here's a tip: do NOT use a strainer when juicing the lemons. No. I've made one batch w/out straining the lemon juice and just picking out the seeds and they were amazing. Second time I used a strainer to catch the seeds and the lemon bars had barely any lemon flavor at all. Otherwise really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is FABULOUS! I made an amalgam of modifications based upon other user's hints, including adding lemon zest, warming lemons 15 seconds in microwave before squeezing, doubling filling to get a thick bar, baking longer. I needed a LOT - 2 9 x 13 Pyrex baking dishes. Here's exactly what I did: Crust: 2 Cups soft butter, 1 Cup white sugar, 4 Cups all purpose flour, 2 tsps lemon zest. I creamed the butter with a hand mixer, added the sugar gradually, added the zest, added the flour 1 cup at a time. I divided the dough between the two Pyrex dishes. Do not bother trying to pat dough up sides of dish..it just melts and slides down the side so you might as well just pat it out evenly over the bottom and forget the sides. Bake at 350 for 20 min. till slightly brown and remove from oven. Filling: 6 Cups white sugar, 3/4 cup flour, 2 1/2 Cups lemon juice,16 eggs, 1 T. lemon zest. Mixed sugar & flour with whisk, added lemon juice, added zest, added the eggs which had been beaten separately. I beat all for a couple of minutes with a hand mixer, till smooth, no lumps. This, I divided between the two pans of hot, prepared, baked dough, evenly. I returned the dishes to the oven and baked them for 30 minutes more, removed from oven, and sprinkled heavily with powdered sugar while still hot, and let cool. They come out of Pyrex very easily. I used 1 1/2 c. fresh squeezed lemon juice and 1 c. bottled because I ran out of lemons. It came out just wonderful!! Thanks to Patty et al..:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Perfection!! This recipe is by far the best recipe I've found for lemon bars! My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was s disappointment. I followed the recipe exactly, except I added the zest of the lemons to the crust and since my lemons were small I used three instead of two. A measurement of juice would have been preferable, mine came out to be about 1/4 cup. I used a food processor to make the crust and my butter was not very soft, but since I was using a food processor, I thought chilled butter would work better. The pan was a non-stick heavy gauge 9x13 pan. In general, the crust came out well, but a bit thick and too buttery, but the topping was waaaay too sweet and not enough lemon flavor. It was a bit gummy too, not the light creamy lemony flavor I was desiring. I did top it with powdered sugar for a nice looking finish. I will be looking for a different recipe or adjusting this one. Did I mention that there was too much sugar and not enough lemon flavor!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I Love this recipe, but I have made my own adjustment. For those who are saying its not lemony enough, I always make sure to use large lemons, like HUGE, and also use the lemon zest from the lemons, it really adds to it, besides that this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by friday green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
To make this recipe even better, I like to juice more lemons and also add plenty if zest. It makes the bars much more lemony and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I have wowed a lot of people with these and passed the recipe along to everyone who tasted them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This was SO good!!!I have made it 2 different times, The first time I made it with 2 lemons, I like a strong lemon flavor but this was nice though I wanted more so the second time I used 2 1/2 and it was PERFECT!!! Over all, SO great! Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States