The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I am a lemon recipe connoisseur! These are the easiest, best tasting lemon bars I have ever made! A couple of tips: I always use a glass pan when baking lemon recipes, because the crust and edges are less likely to darken and crisp up too much. If using a metal pan, dark or not, I lessen the temperature by at least 10 degrees and even more for a dark metal pan. Sometimes bake times must be at lower temp and for longer time, and you can use your best judgment by looks during baking. I agree whole-heartedly with MommyFromSeattle: Use at least 2/3 cup of lemon juice and add lemon zest if you have it! This time I did not have fresh lemons on hand, so I used lemon juice from the bottle and added 2 teaspoons of organic lemon flavoring and used her advice to add the extra Tablespoon of flour for the filling. This allows for that extra tart, super-sweet pop of flavor! Instead of icing, I like to sift powdered sugar over the top, and one can do this immediately after baking to keep it from poofing up everywhere, and a little extra after bars are plated makes for gorgeous presentation! Another thing I like to do with lemon bars is add crushed mint to my crust. I added two teaspoons of crushed mint this time, and I think it was the perfect hint to complement the lemon flavor without tasting overwhelmingly of mint. I did make one substitution: I used half cup of butter half cup of coconut oil. I think this recipe would also work for a graham crust, and plan to try it soon! Mmm-MM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
It also taste good with whole wheat flour and with sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
i love this recipe! as a chef, this is exactly the kind of recipe i like, it's simple and delicious. however, i prefer my lemon bars to pack more of a lemony punch, so i added 1 tablespoon of very finely grated lemon peel to the lemon mixture, and i added a tablespoon of cornstarch to the crust to make it less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Emma Luft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
These are super easy to make and really delicious. I did alter the recipe a bit after reading reviews. I squeezed enough lemons so that I had slightly over 1/2 cup of lemon juice. I added an add'l tablespoon of flour. The crust is delicious. I'm making these for co-workers - so hopefully they will like them as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I didn't change anything to the recipe. It was very good! I think I would've enjoyed more if there was more filling and less crust though. Otherwise very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Recipe is nearly perfect with two small exceptions - add the juice of 3 lemons rather than just the 2 called for, and you will get a much more distinctive lemon flavour and juicier / more lemon curd-like texture on the top layer. I also find than an extra 5-10 minutes on baking the crust gives it a nicer crunchier texture. Serving suggestion: cut up a punnet of strawberries and cover w/ 1 tsp of sugar. Squeeze the juice of one lime over the strawberries and sugar, and leave to soak for at least an hour. Add a little water if there's not enough juice when you're ready to serve, then spoon the strawberries and juice over the lemon bars when you plate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Szostak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Added a little extra lemon...AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
good, but too much of the cookie part and not enough lemon. I suggest 1 1/2 the lemon glaze part and 3/4 the cookie part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Great Recipe! I have tried several recipes on this site for Lemon Bars and this is by far the best. The only changes I made was to add an extra 1/3 cup of sugar to the crust and I juiced 3 lemons and used the zest from 2, I think anything less and there would not have been much lemon flavor. Also, make sure you "PAM" your cooking dish well or these will stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This is my 4th time making this recipe and I absolutely love it. I like to cook the crust for a little longer (5 minutes) for an extra crisp. But absolutely delicious and everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States