The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I would either bake the crust a little longer or make it much thinner. It was a bit too dense. I used 6 tablespoons of lemon juice and the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Really, really good and surprisingly quick and easy, which is my favorite part! I made it exactly like it says, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbrossi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I have to agree that, for me, there was not the tart taste I expected. "Juice of 2 lemons" is misleading since lemons come in varying sizes. It would be better to give an amount. The suggestion to "use at least 1/2 cup of lemon juice" by MommyFromSeattle is a good one. Using the zest from the 2 lemons also will add to the tartness who like their lemon bars that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
It's amazing little bit of heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made this last night and followed suggestions from others about adding extra lemon juice as we like real lemony flavors. Very satisfied with flavors, but the crust stuck to the pan....really stuck. Has anyone else experienced this and how did you fix it??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Best thing I made last Christmas. Family was fighting over them, which is embarrassing because they're all 50 years of age and over. Amazing--followed the "add extra lemon juice" suggestion. Simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was a complete mess to make! I used a slightly smaller brownie pan (6.5 x 10.5), which was probably not the best idea. The lemon mixture spilled all over the place. I had really low expectations making this dessert. I ended up burning the crust and the lemon mixture came out way too thin and watery. However, I poured the lemon mixture on top of the crust and I shoved it in the oven, and took my chances. It took way longer to cook than the stated 20 minutes, more like 40 minutes for me. After letting it cool down, I added the powdered sugar and lemon zest, and it looked very pretty. I packed it up and took it to a dinner party without tasting it and I hoped for the best. I was shocked to take a bite out of it at the party and discover it was so delicious. Everyone raved about how good it was too!!! This is truly a no-fail recipe. But does anyone know how to prevent the powder sugar from melting on top? It looked like the bars were sweating at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This recipe is very similar to the one I use with a couple changes. 1) Use powdered sugar for the crust instead of regular sugar. 2) Use cold butter for the crust and cut it into the flour/sugar mix like you would for a pie crust (please do not use anything other than butter - yummy!) 3) IF you are looking for a quantity of fresh lemon juice (please use fresh, it's so much better than bottled) I use 5/8 C. 4) Add 2 t baking powder to lemon mixture - it makes the filling extra light and fluffy. Be prepared for the raves, you will now be known for your lemon bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
You HAVE to add 4 lemons, otherwise it's a sugar bar,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I just tried the bars, easy as anything, however, make sure you do it for at least 24. I cut it down for 12. Not a good idea, but that was my fault. I also used Splenda as I didn't have any white sugar and I used margarine. So right now I am munching on the skinniest best lemon bars in the world, and it was all my fault.....LOL! It is not going to keep me from doing it properly, either. :-) I will still rate this high even though it didn't work for me. Ozziemom3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States