The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was s disappointment. I followed the recipe exactly, except I added the zest of the lemons to the crust and since my lemons were small I used three instead of two. A measurement of juice would have been preferable, mine came out to be about 1/4 cup. I used a food processor to make the crust and my butter was not very soft, but since I was using a food processor, I thought chilled butter would work better. The pan was a non-stick heavy gauge 9x13 pan. In general, the crust came out well, but a bit thick and too buttery, but the topping was waaaay too sweet and not enough lemon flavor. It was a bit gummy too, not the light creamy lemony flavor I was desiring. I did top it with powdered sugar for a nice looking finish. I will be looking for a different recipe or adjusting this one. Did I mention that there was too much sugar and not enough lemon flavor!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I Love this recipe, but I have made my own adjustment. For those who are saying its not lemony enough, I always make sure to use large lemons, like HUGE, and also use the lemon zest from the lemons, it really adds to it, besides that this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by friday green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
To make this recipe even better, I like to juice more lemons and also add plenty if zest. It makes the bars much more lemony and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I have wowed a lot of people with these and passed the recipe along to everyone who tasted them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This was SO good!!!I have made it 2 different times, The first time I made it with 2 lemons, I like a strong lemon flavor but this was nice though I wanted more so the second time I used 2 1/2 and it was PERFECT!!! Over all, SO great! Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Not enough lemon taste, also did not like the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Was playing around with the lemon mixture. Instead of 1 1/2 cups of sugar, I did 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of confectioners sugar. For the two juiced lemons part, I used this lemon shaped juice...it says "not from concentrate" and states that it is equivalent to the juice of 6 fresh lemons (read the label after I used half of the juice lol). Thought it didn't quite taste lemon-ee so I used the juice of an actual lemon (one) and said the heck with it and used the rest of the lemon juice product. I like my lemon bars to taste tart and it did lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikealp
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I made these and what an easy yet yummy treat! Made them for a church grillout tomorrow! I agreed with an earlier comment using 2/3 cup lemon juice extra tablespoon of flour and some zest really helps! Tart and sweet! Awesome summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Wow. Didn't change anything and turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My 11 year old son just made a batch and it was delicious. However, just fyi it is not tart and lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States