The Best Gluten Free Brownies Ever...Seriously Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I've made these brownies twice now, and wow! Forget about them being gluten free, these were delicious all on their own! The last time I made these I threw in some gluten free rolled oats, for my own amusement. I really liked the texture of oats vs. nuts, but to each their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
These were delicious! I didn't tell my boys they were gluten-free and they couldn't tell the difference. I made just as stated. The only difference was that I used a pre-blend of gluten-free flour (Pamela's- really good and easy to use). I was curious about no baking soda, but I did not add it and the brownies came out thick and fudgy. The batter looked exactly the same when it came out of the oven as it did when it went in! I will definitely make these again and might add baking soda just to satisfy my curiosity... UPDATE- I did add baking soda the second time I made these. They puffed way up and then fell when they came out of the oven. This time the brownies were much darker and not as dense, much more the texture and color of a box brownie mix. Thanks, Lindsay these are delicious either way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Thiis really is the best brownie. Won a first in open category at my fall fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Boy, Lindsay is not kidding when she called these brownies 'the best ever'!! I bake gluten-free for my mother who has celiac, but this is the recipe I'm going to use whenever I bake brownies. I followed the recipe except that I used 3/4 cup of 'Cup4Cup' gluten-free flour in place of the three different flours and eliminated the xanthan gum. They were simply DELICIOUS!! Props to Lindsay L.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe! Have a friend that is gluten free and I bake them for her all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
These were great! I used white rice flour for teff flour. These were delicious despite the substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Thank you for this family recipe, Lindsay. My son wanted brownies (& ice cream) for his 10th birthday celebration. We are a gluten-free family and even though I love baking and do it quite often, I've never made GF brownies. So I searched online and found your recipe. It came out great! I made a few small changes: -I used a combination of coconut sugar and xylitol (birch bark sugar) and used about 1/8-1/4 cup less than the recipe called for. -I added about 1/4 cup buttermilk (this always makes baked goods really moist) -used sprouted brown rice flour instead of sorghum flour since that's what I had on hand. Sorghum flour is a sweeter rice flour and sprouted brown rice flour is more of a standard flour flavor. -I used a combo of semi-sweet and bittersweet chocolate chips since I didn't have enough semi-sweet. Using less sugar and less sweet chocolate chips still made for plenty sweet brownies. They are so moist, fudgy and delicious. I will definitely make them again. I've already been asked to share the recipe with a friend and I already emailed it to her. Thanks again. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I was skeptical about this recipe once I had everything mixed together because it was like a solid gooey mass, almost impossible to spread out in the baking pan, but WOW they came out amazing!! They took an extra 15 minutes to cook, but that's somewhat typical for my oven. I placed a few peanut butter cups throughout because my boyfriend was craving them but with or without them, we both agreed these brownies taste incredible... you can't tell they're gluten free at all and they're much better than the gf pre-mixes. Can't wait to make them again, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darci Niszczak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Excellent. Really very good and everyone at the party I took them to was surprised to hear they were GF! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe! I just used it to make my first batch of brownies ever and it came out better than I ever expected. The only addition was a little bit of baking powder and replaced xanthan gum with milled flax seeds (mix with 2 tsp of boiling water to form a gummy substance before adding it to the batter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States