The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this for my family and we all loved it! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yummy, sweet noodle treat! I've never eaten kugel before so I have no experience with how this *should* taste, but I made it exactly as written and it came out delicious! (although I reduced the baking time as my oven is pretty powerful) It is decidedly sweet, and the applesauce gives it a fresh, fruity flavor. This would seem to be a great side dish with pork chops and roasted veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for! Sweet, creamy, with a nice vanilla flavor. I sometimes add raisins. You can decrease the sugar if desired to 1/2 cup and it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Thank you for this simple recipe. I wanted to make a kugel with ingredients I already had in the house. I just finished making it. It tastes very close to the kugel my Bubby used to make. I can't wait till my son tries it. He never got to meet his great grandmother, but at least he can experience the delicious food she used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
not bad. This is compared to a favorite recipe from an experienced Jewish caterer though, not sure if it's fair. I really would take the time to use fresh grated apples in place of the applesauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Mmmm... Very good and makes the whole house smell delicious but I modified it by adding 2 tablespoons cinnamon into the mix, chopped pecans, white raisins, and I had to add a little more butter (3 tablespoons) and 2 more eggs because after I mixed it all together, it was too dry to bake. Also I substituted the sugar for splenda because thats all we have in the house and I didnt want to go out and buy more and it tastes fine! My man is going to be so excited when he comes home and finds this waiting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This Kugel recipe is great! I substituted grated Bosc pears and currants for the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Scott Andrews

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Tasted good but too dry. Haven't tried any variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Excellent. I love that it is low fat - no cheese. Added raisins and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States