The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
In my opinion, a 1 lb bag of noodles wasn't enough for a 9x13 pan, so I added made an additional 1/2 bag. I also added an additional 5 tbsp of butter, 3 eggs and extra applesauce, sugar, cinnamon, etc. It still came out a little dry but not horrible. It tasted pretty good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written. It was great. My husband loved it too. I did add raisins and dried cranberries. MSB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I brought this to a work potluck and everyone raved about it. Had to share the recipe with several co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Had this exact recipe in a Jewish deli 20 yrs. ago and fell in love. I've made it many times and always add raisins. (With raisins you may want to cut the sugar back by 1/4 - 1/2 cup, I can't taste the difference). Hot out of the oven I eat as is. As a left over I drizzle caramel sauce over the top and reheat.....it's divine! I've also used 1 1/2 cups of smashed ripe bananas in place of the applesauce. This is one of those recipes you can play with and it always seems to work. Thank you Jewish Soul Food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
made exactly as written! Rave reviews from my whole family, my dad even went so far as to say it was better than my baba's kugal! My whole family has asked me to put raisins in next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Yummy side dish if you like the sweet flavor. Sometimes I add raisons or diced apple. Gives a nice extra fruity flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I dont understand, I may have done something wrong, but I am sure I followed the recipe. The flavor seemed like it would be good, but the noodles were soooo dry even though I added another egg. The custard didn't come close to covering the noodles and I was worried about it but I baked it anyway, following the directions. The noodles on top were crunchy and hard. It seemed like it needs way more custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Made this for Rosh Hashana dinner and it was DELISH...followed recipe exactly, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
The flavor was excellent. However, I tweaked the recipe a bit, I reduced the sugar slightly and added honey and a dash of ginger. The only thing I would do differently is bake it in a 9x9 pan because the one reccomended in the recipe- I like mine thicker and more custardy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Best kugel ever! Would maybe add raisins as a variation and a little more cinnnamon in the middle. Wonder if brown sugar would be just as good as white sugar...not sure but will try this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States