The Best Ever Chicken Nuggets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made this for my family tonight. I did not cut the boneless, skinless breasts into chunks, I just left them whole. The batter was good, but too salty, and I like salt more than the average Joe. I would cut back to 4 tablespoons of garlic salt. Also, pepper is to taste, and I found it a little too much, as well. Remember, when frying chicken, dip first in the flour mix, then the egg dip, then back into the flour, and the coating will hold tight to the chicken, better than egg first and then flour. My kids, 6 and 7, loved it, but it was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Have you heard of Chick-fil-a? They have thee BEST chicken nuggets and chicken strips. Thanks to this recipe, now so do I! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
These were great, much better than any fast food restaurant. I agree, too much flour. If you are feeding 2 like I was, use 2 breasts, 1 cup flour, 1 beaten egg, 3 TBS garlic powder 1 TBS & 1/2 tsp pepper. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHuey10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
These were great! The chicken was very juicy. I whipped them up for dinner in about 15 minutes. I scaled the recipe down for 2, and I think that there was too much flour. I used about half a cup for 2 good sized chicken breasts. Next time I may also add some pepper flakes to the flour mix. Don't worry if you don't have a thermometer, I don't and mine came out perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
These are delicious but I did make a few changes based on some of the other reviews. I used 3 cups of flour and 1 cup of bread crumbs. I also used 2 tablespoons of garlic salt and 2 tablespoons of onion powder instead of all the garlic salt. This seemed to make the saltiness just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was good, but I have to admit that I didn't have any garlic salt so I used 6 Tbs garlic powder and I only added 1 Tbs of salt b/c of all the reviews that said it was too salty but clearly there wasn't enough salt. Also I used 1 1/2 cups flour and 1 1/2 cups of italian bread crumbs. For a simple recipe this was VERY GOOD. Once everyone added salt to their chicken they gobbled it up. I used 7 large chicken breasts, cut up into strips, and there was plently, even extra, for 9 people and that was with almost everyone going back for 3rds even 4ths. I also did the egg, flour, egg, flour dip like others suggested and I had plently of flour mixture but I needed 4 more eggs for that. The kids LOVED the coating! Also I wish that the recipe said about how long you should fry the chicken but I guess it all depends on the size of chicken you use, after a few trial and errors it took about 6 to 7 mins to completely cook the strips, and the chicken was surprisingly juicy. Next time I will probably try adding some chicken seasoning for alittle more flavoring but even as is it's pretty good. I am definatly making this a regular recipe in our house. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and was very disappointed on the turn out. The flour left the chicken very sticky. The taste was good, not great though. It did leave the chicken moist but I couldn’t get past the stickiness of the coating to enjoy it. My boyfriend agreed and we ended up throwing it away. I recommend using bread crumbs instead of the flour. I will not attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
These chicken nuggets really are the best ever. We are big Chick-fil-a fans and these were definitely comparable. I made Honey Mustard Sauce to go along with it and it was very good too. I followed the recipe pretty closely except I used whole wheat flour and it still turned out delicious. Kids ages 5,3 & 1 gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I wish I could give it a 4.5 because it was very tasty, but it was also extremely salty. I saw a previous review pointing that out so I halved the garlis salt and replaced it with garlic powder, and it was still too much for me. If you like things lightly salty, I would recommend reducing it substantially, and adding more to later batches if you need more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Great recipe. Very easy to make. My husband loved it. He said it taste better than fastfood chicken nuggets. I make this in small portions (serving for two), so i use the seasoning to taste. I also make double coating(egg and flour) before deep frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States