The Best Double Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
It's annoying when recipes get rated after being altered from the original but that is what I did...not much though. I rated it 4 stars because only after the slight changes did I think it deserved 5. Personal preference maybe. I cut the sugars to about 3/4 c. each, used butter, cut choc. chips to 2 cups (1 cup mini, 1 c. jumbo chips)and sprinkled them lightly with powdered sugar. Plenty sweet, PLENTY of choc chips. absolutely delicious! Next time I think I will try a little coconut and pecans or walnuts for added texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenaGayle Jack Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Not my favorite DCCC recipe. I bake CC cookies all the time, and for whatever reason these were pretty flat. They need a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSTARALYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This has become a family favorate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I followed the suggestions below and made a few of my own minor changes. 1. I used peanut butter M&Ms instead of chocolate chips. That was a HUGE hit with the kids. 2. I NEVER use margarine. BUTTER, BUTTER, BUTTER!!! The secret is to allow it to SOFTEN. DONT MELT IT IN THE MICROWAVE! Then you cream you butter and sugar well. Add one egg at a time then your batter will be very light anf fluffy. You cant go wrong here. 3. I always throw in an extra teaspoon of vanilla. One tsp of vanilla is good. Two is GREAT! 4. I increased the cocoa powdered to 1/2 cup. 5. I added a pinch of cayenne. ( does that enhance the chocolate flavor! It does not make it spicy. My kids dont like anything spicy.) 6. I added a rounded tsp of baking soda. (My cookies were small but nice and thick (and soft!) 7. I baked my cookies for 9 min. Then left them on the cookie rack to cool. 8. I put my batter in the fridge for 45 minute (I had to take a break to make dinner) until it was nice and firm. Then I kept it in the fridge in while the cookies baked. I only put the batter on cooled cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
These are fabulous! After reading reviews I also increased the cocoa to 1/2 a cup which helped the color. I like my cookies soft, so I added 2 tsp. of cornstarch. A great recipe and I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Delicious!! I read reviews and DIDN'T grease the pans, they came off fine. Also used butter instead of margarine and worked great. Only 4 stars because I think the proportions are a little off: you only need half that amount of sugar (they were plenty sweet!) and 2 cups chocolate chips. I also increased the cocoa, and they tasted like brownies. :-) Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This is a perfect way to get your chocolate fix. Delicious. This is the second time I have made this recipe. The first time was good, but I had to substitute some of the chocolate chips for walnuts. They were really good. This time I stuck to the recipe but added a bit more chocolate powder as some people said and since it was a bit wet, I added a bit more flour. The results are amazing. This is a very easy recipe but gives excellent results..............Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Tasty but too sweet for my liking. I'll decrease the amount of sugar next time I make these. Otherwise, soft and chewy. Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
mmm mmm purrrfect! my whole family gobbled these down in an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
These cookies really are the best - I make them all the time! This last time, I put in 8 oz. choc chips and 6 oz. butterscotch chips - and WOW! These cookies were gone in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States