The Best Double Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Okay, I made some mistakes the first time around, but I tried again and I'm here with a five star rating, once I did it right. Don't grease the cookie sheet, duh, it says that already, but I did it anyway. Flat cookies! I used butter as well, which might have contributed to the flatness. Second time around...ungreased cookie sheet+ 2/3 cup cocoa powder+ chilled the dough= excellent cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Was looking for very chocolately, fudgy cookie recipe and found this. Am just eating my second cookie! I found exactly what I was looking for!! Turns out this recipe is very close to my standard choc. chip cookie recipe from my mother-in-law, which took me many years to perfect, except that the flour is reduced to accommodate the cocoa powder. I gave this four stars because I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup white, 3/4 cup brown and cookies were still PLENTY sweet - oh and that includes after reducing choc chips to 2 cups and adding 1 cup slivered almonds. Also substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour for a cup of the white, and 1/2 cup butter for 1/2 cup of the marg. Added a couple of shakes of cinnamon and a dash of cayenne (per another readers tip). End result is extremely yummy, dark chocolatey, fudgy cookies. As to perfecting my mother-in-laws recipe, I learned that the consistency of the fat (she uses 1 stick butter, 1 stick crisco) is critical. It cannot be too runny or too cool. Works best if left to warm to room temp. She swears by making a single "test" cookie first, and then adding additional flour if needed, but I can never be bothered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I can't exactly rate this recipe because I made one alteration that could have changed the outcome-- I used butter... but because I was taught to use butter. These cookies taste absolutely amazing and rich in chocolate. I never bake dark cookies, so it was very difficult for me to take them out right when the edges were dark/ a little under-baked (the way I like my cookies). These cookies were also not very aesthetically pleasing. But, I definitely thought the chocolate and crispiness of the cookies were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was an especially good recipe. I didn't have the unsweetened cocoa powder and used hersheys dark chocolate cocoa powder instead. The cookies came out much darker in appearance, and were ...as the recipe says ... very very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
So scrumptious...I can't stop eating them! Took the advice of other reviews and added cinnamon, a sprinkle of cayenne, and extra cocoa. I have zero regrets!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Be sure to store them in an AIRTIGHT container. Chocolate chocolate chocolate YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I halved the recipe, it worked out fine. A little too salty, so I will add less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I've been making these cookies for a couple years, but the recipe I have (from a friend) calls for 3/4 cup of cocoa powder AND I use reece's peanut butter chips instead of chocolate. It's very popular in my family:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
These cookies tasted great, but they were a little flat. I only used 2 cups of chips, because that was all I had on hand, and I forgot to add the vanilla. I also added chopped walnuts to half the mixture because I love nuts and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Yummy! However, I am the Queen of flat cookies!!! so these turned out about 1/2 the height of those pictured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States