The Best Doggy Biscuits! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Dogs loved them, I made them with low sodium chicken broth intead of water and added some parsly for breath. I added a little salt for taste, but just a shake or two, nowhere near the amount the recipe called for. My Sheltie is a therapy dog, so no peanut butter, even though he would like it, because too many kids in school with peanut allergies. IMHO, I would keep this in mind when giving as gifts. Instead of balling the dough, I just pressed it flat into the cookie sheet, then cut it into training size bites with the edge of a spatula while still warm from the oven. Much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Wheat Flour and Corn meal are not good for your dogs, they do not digest it well. Substitue for Rice Meal and Bean Flour. LEAVE OUT the salt. Keep egg shells in (better for them), use light olive oil instead of veggie oil. The recipe isnt healthy for them, but its a good concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I'm only 13 and I made these treats by myself, and, well, they didn't turn out the best. I followed all the instructions, did the correct baking times, and had every exact measurement of the right ingredients, yet my dog Rosie didn't go as crazy for them as some of the other reviewer's dogs did. She sort of sniffed it suspiciously and ate it reluctantly. Maybe I did something wrong, or I need a grown ups help! :) Still I really like this recipe becuase it was easy to make and I got about 120 biscuits out of it instead of 42. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I've been eyeing this recipe for a while. It's my big boy's birthday today (he's 12!) so today was the day. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe! I can finally make decent looking biscuits! I totally left out the salt, it's NOT good for your dog. Other than that, I made this to the T and it worked really well! I didn't need to add any more flour or water. The birthday boy and his little brother and sister all love these biscuits. Thanks again for a super recipe for my pups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aura_bryt
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
so i've never made food for dogs but wow! i added some corn meal and flavored it with chicken and veggies organic baby food (all we had in the house) and they smell great. the birthday boy (4 year old great dane) even licked the spoon he is now sprawled near the oven anxiously awaiting the food to come out. with two poodles wandering and sniffing the air deff will make agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My dogs would not eat these. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I made these for my mom's puppy and she loved them...I think. She'll eat pretty much anything, but this is the ONLY time she's ever freaked out when someone got too close to her as she was eating. The only thing I did differently was that I did not add the salt. Not sure why it's needed. Will try peanut butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My dog loved these! WARNING: Some people put garlic in these, but garlic can be toxic to dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fennville, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My dogs loved these!! We put out one of their old treats and one of these homemades, and they immediately went for the homemade ones. I ued beef stock and and didn't use the salt. Will def share with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delicious! I added 1 bouillon cube on warm water and omitted the salt. Both my mom and I tasted them and they're even yummy for humans! Of course my dog loved them and keeps staring at me while I bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States