The Best Doggy Biscuits! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Be very careful with the ingredients you use!! Garlic is NOT good for dogs so please do not use it. I am also concerned about the vegetable oil in this recipe. Fats can trigger an attack of pancreatitis, which is a potentially deadly illness. I have two Yorkies and I have to be very careful to feed them low-fat, low sodium foods. I would have to alter this recipe before I would feed them these biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Keng Lennon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe for my thirteen year-old Dachshund and my grandmother's also thirteen year-old Labrador Retriever mix and Poodle. I tried it myself before giving it to my dog. It tasted delicious! Then I have my dog a piece of one, to get a canine to sample. She couldn't get enough of it! After re-reading Three Dog Bakery's story for the bajillionth time, I knew I had to try giving my dog fresh-baked cookies. I choose the one I had all the ingredients for already and had good reviews. I am so happy I tried this recipe. Not only could my Dachshund not get enough, but my grandmother's dogs gulped it down like Christmas dinner, then proceeded to beg for more. It was a wonderful treat for them all and I certainly will make it again. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This recipe turned out great! Thank you for sharing this. I made it exactly how it was supposed to be made for my first batch. It was great. In my second batch I added some peanut butter. My dog seems to like the one with peanut butter in it. I also tested to see if he liked these treats better than the store bought ones...and he chose the home made treats over the store bought! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Megz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Good recipe! You can make it more healthy by adding things like milled flax seed or herbs. Herbs also add flavor and help freshen your dogs breath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This recipe is wonderful but I did make a few changes. I did not add salt. For the oil I used half olive oil and half bacon fat. I used chicken broth for the water. Next time I am going to try beef broth. I tried it on 3 dogs and they gobbled them up. Thank you for this recipe. Any idea where I can get dog biscuit shaped cookie cutters?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These were easy to throw together i used a bone cookie cutter turned out very cute!!! I did add a little peanutbutter and a dash Of cinnamon my dogs loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I just added a small packet of wet dog food(meat chunks) into the mix. If it needed more flour just add a little bit. The dogs liked them. Very easy to make. I used a plastic shot glass to cut out little rounds and pricked with fork before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Nice simple recipe - I customized it by omitting the salt, using spelt flour instead of whole wheat and chicken broth instead of water. I added some spices: 1/2 tsp each cinnamon, ginger, turmeric and cumin - yummm nice earthy aroma. My pup gives them a 2 paws up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Super easy. I made these with my Christmas cookie cutters in Candy cane, tree, and star. My dogs gobbeled them right up. Will defintly be make again and again. Going to be makeng these for gifts for all our doggy friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
My lab loves these! I added some ground-up sausage patties that were left over from breakfast and used the sausage drippings as part of the oil. I also didn't add the salt since we were putting in sausage. I like this recipe because you could really add anything to it - and you don't have to roll it out and use cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States