The Best Corn Bread You'll Ever Eat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I liked this recipe. It uses creamed corn which adds something different. The result is rich and moist. If you want flavorful cornbread, add hot peppers, onions, and/or cheese. I did add the 1/4 c. sugar as recommended by others and used a preheated oiled cast iron pan. I added our own dried habanero chili powder to the batter. We had it with black eyed peas and chopped onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was okay. The first piece was really good, but I dont know....it just wasnt very good after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This does make a very moist cornbread with a wonderful, crispy crust. It turned out delicious, but I did do a little doctoring b/c the batter was very bland--I added 1/4 cup sugar, some Tony's Cacheres, cayenne pepper, some melted butter, and another egg for good measure. I had to cook it about 45-50 minutes. It was pretty good, and we had it with chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I thought this was very good but like some of the other reviews I added 1/4 cup of sugar. I also used a 14 oz can of cream corn. Will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Little Canada, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Real cornbread isn't supposed to be sweet! This is how my mother has made cornbread for years, except I don't recall hers having milk in it. I think it has another egg and maybe more sour cream. As with traditional southern-style cornbread - before she found this recipe with sour cream and corn, we heat the oven to 450, not 425, and first heat the empty skillet up really hot on the stove top, add a couple of tablespoons of oil, swish it around to coat the pan, toss in a big pinch of cornmeal, swish it around and let brown a little - won't take but a moment, pour the batter in the pan THEN put it in the hot oven and bake until real good and brown. Nothing better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
VERY easy and very ggod. Didn't have I skillet, so I used a baking sheet. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Sparrow Bush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Looked very nice but tasted very bland. I was expecting something a lot sweeter and this was more like a corn brick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This recipe was okay but I wouldn't consider this the best corn bread. Too much liquid and not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I wish I could say that this was great but it was terrible....there was no flavor what-so-ever. I'm just glad that I had a couple of boxes of cornbread mix otherwise my family would have been very disappointed having a thanksgiving without cornbread....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I love this recipe, full of flavor and moist not dry, it was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States