The Best Corn Bread You'll Ever Eat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Real cornbread isn't supposed to be sweet! This is how my mother has made cornbread for years, except I don't recall hers having milk in it. I think it has another egg and maybe more sour cream. As with traditional southern-style cornbread - before she found this recipe with sour cream and corn, we heat the oven to 450, not 425, and first heat the empty skillet up really hot on the stove top, add a couple of tablespoons of oil, swish it around to coat the pan, toss in a big pinch of cornmeal, swish it around and let brown a little - won't take but a moment, pour the batter in the pan THEN put it in the hot oven and bake until real good and brown. Nothing better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This cornbread was good, though rather dense. I would definately take the previous advice and add some sugar. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Boy, did Debbie ever give this recipe an appropiate name! From the ease of the mixing of the batter to the smell it generates in the oven...this IS the best cornbread you'll ever put in your mouth. What else is great about this recipe is you will more than likely have everything on hand to make it. No running to the store to get an ingredient. One thing...follow the direction of some of the other posters, either add more cornmeal or less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
So moist and yummy. I don't have an iron skillet, so I just baked in cake pan. Turned out wonderful. Doubled and cooked an additional 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
This recipe didn't have as much flavor as the recipe I usually use. I thought the creamed corn and sour cream would really jazz it up, but for some reason, it was just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
I tried this recipe and contrary to the name it was not the best cornbread I've ever eaten. The people at my party did not like it. It lacked flavor and I will not use it this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
this recipes is definatly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamila31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
This cornbread was moist but not really what I was looking for. I was looking for a sweeter cornbread. I may try this again and add sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
This truly was the BEST cornbread I've ever eaten! It was very moist and was a huge hit at my barbeque. My friends are STILL talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
This lacked flavor and sweetness. If you don't like your cornbread sweet, this one is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States