The Best Corn Bread You'll Ever Eat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Perri Pender
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Pretty good, My husband did not like it at all, but he is a very very picky eater. The sour cream did not mix in as well as it should, there were spots of sour cream in it. I did add 3 TB of sugar, the consistency of the bread was very different. overall 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
A very dense cornbread, sort of a blah taste. Reminded me of fried mush, my mom use to make me for breakfast. Would not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This is the best cornbread ever. I grew up eating dry buttermilk cornbread and this is so much better. My son will eat the whole pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this as written, except I didn't have "corn meal mix". I substituted 2 cups of corn meal, 1Tbsp baking powder, and 1 tsp salt. Next time, I will do the same thing, but will use all-purpose flour in place of some of the cornmeal. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This is good stuff!! Ive made it several times. It goes great with Flatlander chili. My girl friend like’s it so much she calls if corn Cake! The iron skillet is very important. I tried it in a glass-baking dish once and it turned out awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiki's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I did not like this at all! It was dark on the outside and mushy on the inside, plus it had no flavor, I will not be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Concept and ingredients look great...didn't turn out though. We followed the recipe but we ended up with the cornbread being mushy / undercooked. Continued cooking it much longer than the recipe and although it browned on the outside, the inside was still mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I LOVE this recipe. Made it to go with my Red Beans and Rice and it was AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I diodn't like this recipe at all. I will make it again and use some sugar. It should have been sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverdale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I love this recipe. I've made it several times and each time, i get raving reviews. The best thing about this recipe is that it truly gives you a moist cornbread. Countless times I've been told that no one needs to use butter with the cornbread. I've made this recipe as provided and also with several modifications. I've made it with a mixture of mexican and pepperjack cheese; i've made it with onions, jalapenos, and cayenne pepper. It's a super-easy batter to make and it is the best corn bread you'll ever eat. For those that commented on how sweet the cornbread is, it's relative. I didnt think the original recipe was sweet and none of the folks that ate did either. This is definitely worth trying if you're looking for a cornbread recipe. I doubt you'll look any further once you try it. thanks debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States