The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe was really good! By far the best chocolate chip cookie recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I solved the shortening or butter question. I use Butter Flavored Crisco and refrigerate the dough for about an hour. Works great, the cookies stay thick and soft. Pam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaver Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
just got done making these and they were amazing i omitted the coconut and nuts for personal reasons but overall they were amazing my 4 1/2 year old loves them will deffinatly rate it a++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
BEST COOKIES EVER I LOVE IT SOOOO MUCH my friends and family loved it so much now they demand me to make them cookies :D but instead of shortening i used butter and i used pecans but i din't put the coconut but it was still delicious!! btw here's a tip don't flatten the cookies just let them stay as balls it'll melt eventually :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I made these today and they came out perfect! I added an extra 5 minutes to the baking time because I truly did use a LARGE spoon. It was crispy on the sides and chewy in the middle just like it says. The best chocolate chip cookies I have ever tasted! Kudos!!!! PS: Not runny at all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Easy recipe to follow. The cookies turn out wonderful though just a tad too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
These were good cookies although after following the recipe ... I felt the coconut was pretty sparce and would recommend using maybe 1/2 to 1C. more shredded coconut. Also I used 1C. shortening and 1C. butter. I didn't have an issue of the cookies over-spreading. They came out really nice looking. I would have to agree with a previous review that these have a similar soft texture to a Mrs.Fields cookie. They did almost taste store purchased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
What a shame that because of one important flaw, at least for me, I feel I must rate this recipe two stars less than I’d really like to. Some reviewers remarked that the cookie spread too much, that it turned out flat and greasy. My experience was the same. One review suggests if butter rather than shortening were used, this wouldn’t be an issue. Actually, the opposite is true. While butter contributes exceptional flavor, it does have the tendency to make a cookie flatter. This is because butter has a lower melting point than shortening, as well as water, so it melts quickly and spreads the cookie as it bakes. In my case, I used half butter, half shortening, and then refrigerated the dough for a good hour to firm that butter up – but it didn’t work this time. So, I did a little investigating and quickly learned that too much fat wasn’t the problem – it was too little flour. If you like the sort of cookies sold at shopping malls, like Mrs. Fields,’ that are flatter, greasier and sort of bendable, then you’d like these. If not, and you want them drier, chewier and thicker, then add 1-1/2 c. of flour to this recipe! Yes, that’s significant! The taste of these cookies with the chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate), macadamia nuts and coconut, coupled with the buttery flavor using half butter, half shortening, gives these cookies a flavor that is just out of this world. With 1-1/2 cups more flour, or ¾ c. for the half recipe I made, this would be the perfect cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious! I used butter instead of shortening and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
My cookies spread too much and were kind of flat - - I didn't add enough flour perhaps - but it is a delicious cookie. I made some of them with white chocolate chunks instead, and my husband and I agreed that the taste of the macadamias came through better. We thought the chocolate chips overpowered the subtle flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States