The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Absolutely DELISH !! I would put in a few more macadamias next time....if I could get them in the cookies instead of my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
A good cookie, but I would probably omit the coconut next time and add raisins instead. I'm not a big coconut fan to begin with. Also- the batter became very greasy since butter flavored shortening was used. This wouldn't happen if butter was used. I used walnuts instead of macadamia nuts (didn't have any..and I prefer walnuts). A very good cookie, but I have other recipes I like just as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
These went over great with the soccer team and the coach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
i jus followed the instructions and my cookies were really good. big hit,so many people asking for my recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
These WERE great. try them with peanut M&Ms- THERE GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe is awesome! Its delicious! I will be making these again! I loved them! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
For this recipe, I followed exactly except I didn't have any butter or shortening, so I used Real Mayonaise. It came out DELICIOUS AND MOIST!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
My cookies spread too much and were kind of flat - - I didn't add enough flour perhaps - but it is a delicious cookie. I made some of them with white chocolate chunks instead, and my husband and I agreed that the taste of the macadamias came through better. We thought the chocolate chips overpowered the subtle flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious! I used butter instead of shortening and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
What a shame that because of one important flaw, at least for me, I feel I must rate this recipe two stars less than I’d really like to. Some reviewers remarked that the cookie spread too much, that it turned out flat and greasy. My experience was the same. One review suggests if butter rather than shortening were used, this wouldn’t be an issue. Actually, the opposite is true. While butter contributes exceptional flavor, it does have the tendency to make a cookie flatter. This is because butter has a lower melting point than shortening, as well as water, so it melts quickly and spreads the cookie as it bakes. In my case, I used half butter, half shortening, and then refrigerated the dough for a good hour to firm that butter up – but it didn’t work this time. So, I did a little investigating and quickly learned that too much fat wasn’t the problem – it was too little flour. If you like the sort of cookies sold at shopping malls, like Mrs. Fields,’ that are flatter, greasier and sort of bendable, then you’d like these. If not, and you want them drier, chewier and thicker, then add 1-1/2 c. of flour to this recipe! Yes, that’s significant! The taste of these cookies with the chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate), macadamia nuts and coconut, coupled with the buttery flavor using half butter, half shortening, gives these cookies a flavor that is just out of this world. With 1-1/2 cups more flour, or ¾ c. for the half recipe I made, this would be the perfect cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States