The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I've been making this same cake for years! Actually, instead of the oil, I use another stick of butter. Yikes! Three sticks in one cake!!! Anyway, I have been asked to make this cake MANY, MANY times over the years. I have even been paid to make this cake. My mother-in-law has dreams about it, and hoards it when I make it. I got the recipe from a friend about twenty years ago (when I was in Jr. High School!), and she called it Candy Cake because the icing is like eating fudge. I highly recommend poking lots of holes in the cake just before you pour the hot icing over the hot cake. I use a thick wooden skewer to do this. If I didn't have one, then I use the back of my beater from my hand-mixer. This makes it unbelievably moist and heaven-filled! I used to get asked to make the birthday cake for all the birthdays in my office, and my co-workers even asked if I would make this cake for my own birthday. It is a definite winner. Don't look any further, this is THE chocolate cake! Oh, and candacemarie, my name is also Candice Marie and I go by Candi, too. People think the cake is named after me (since we call it Candy Cake). lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Well i was looking for a chocolate cake recipe, so i tried this one. I followed the recipe almost exactly but cut the cinnamon to half the amount. Even with that the cinnamon almost over powered it. I wanted a basic chocolate cake, not a cinnamon chocolate cake. Also, it wasn't very chocolaty. Because of that i give it 3 stars. Now since then i stopped using cinnamon and use a bit more than 1/4 cup of cocoa. The cake is very good and very moist. A good recipe to build off of. Also i did not like the frosting, way to sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This is an AWESOME recipe!!!! The ingredient list is long, but it is very easy to make and clean up is simple. HINT: I didn't want a rectangle cake so I poured the batter into 2 9inch pans. It turned out great. Perfect for layers!!! For big layers- double recipe!!! (It also slipped out of the pan with no mess!!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
This is a fantastic recipe that continues to be a hit with co-workers and friends. The cake is easy to make, the frosting is wonderful, and the cake stays remarkably moist. I highly recommend this cake to anyone who loves chocolate - it is indeed the best chocolate cake you ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This cake is super yummy and easy to make, I did it in two 9'' pans for a layer cake, and just made it for the third time, each time has been a fantastic birthday cake..i use a different frosting, and make a fresh strawberry filling, sooo good with the cinnamon! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I found this cake really easy to make and quite tasty. A good, cheap-to-make chocolate cake. (I didn't add the cinnamon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the same recipe I had years ago and lost...so happy to have it again! As suggested by others, I use 3 sticks butter (omit veg. oil), use only 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and punch holes in cake with handle of small wooden spoon prior to adding the icing. It's much better on day 2...even more moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I have never baked a cake before, AND THIS CAKE WAS AWESOME! Everyone at my daughters b-day party was just raving about this cake. I used a cream cheese frosting and it turned out great. USE THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was one of my Mom's favorite recipes and mine too. To make it more chocolately, I add 1/3 cup Giradelli 60% Cocao chocolate chips or same in Giradelli baking bar to the heated butter/water/oil. I use a mixer. Mom always mixed it by hand. Frosting: 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 cup butter, 1 cup white sugar. Bring to a rolling boil. Add 1/2 cup Giradelli chocolate chips and beat. If using on sheet cake, pour over and allow to cool. I use this cake between layers and on top of this cake when I make a layer cake. I use a thicker frosting (made with powdered sugar) for the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2000
VERY EASY RECIPE WITH AN ABSOLUTELY DELIGHTFUL FLAVOR. THE CINNAMON MAKES THIS A MOUTH WATERING MEMORY. MY FAMILY JUST LOVES IT. I KEEP GETTING REQUESTS FOR IT. BUT, IT DOESN'T LAST VERY LONG WHEN I MAKE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States