The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I've been making this same cake for years! Actually, instead of the oil, I use another stick of butter. Yikes! Three sticks in one cake!!! Anyway, I have been asked to make this cake MANY, MANY times over the years. I have even been paid to make this cake. My mother-in-law has dreams about it, and hoards it when I make it. I got the recipe from a friend about twenty years ago (when I was in Jr. High School!), and she called it Candy Cake because the icing is like eating fudge. I highly recommend poking lots of holes in the cake just before you pour the hot icing over the hot cake. I use a thick wooden skewer to do this. If I didn't have one, then I use the back of my beater from my hand-mixer. This makes it unbelievably moist and heaven-filled! I used to get asked to make the birthday cake for all the birthdays in my office, and my co-workers even asked if I would make this cake for my own birthday. It is a definite winner. Don't look any further, this is THE chocolate cake! Oh, and candacemarie, my name is also Candice Marie and I go by Candi, too. People think the cake is named after me (since we call it Candy Cake). lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Well i was looking for a chocolate cake recipe, so i tried this one. I followed the recipe almost exactly but cut the cinnamon to half the amount. Even with that the cinnamon almost over powered it. I wanted a basic chocolate cake, not a cinnamon chocolate cake. Also, it wasn't very chocolaty. Because of that i give it 3 stars. Now since then i stopped using cinnamon and use a bit more than 1/4 cup of cocoa. The cake is very good and very moist. A good recipe to build off of. Also i did not like the frosting, way to sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This is an AWESOME recipe!!!! The ingredient list is long, but it is very easy to make and clean up is simple. HINT: I didn't want a rectangle cake so I poured the batter into 2 9inch pans. It turned out great. Perfect for layers!!! For big layers- double recipe!!! (It also slipped out of the pan with no mess!!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
This is a fantastic recipe that continues to be a hit with co-workers and friends. The cake is easy to make, the frosting is wonderful, and the cake stays remarkably moist. I highly recommend this cake to anyone who loves chocolate - it is indeed the best chocolate cake you ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This cake is super yummy and easy to make, I did it in two 9'' pans for a layer cake, and just made it for the third time, each time has been a fantastic birthday cake..i use a different frosting, and make a fresh strawberry filling, sooo good with the cinnamon! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I found this cake really easy to make and quite tasty. A good, cheap-to-make chocolate cake. (I didn't add the cinnamon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I have never baked a cake before, AND THIS CAKE WAS AWESOME! Everyone at my daughters b-day party was just raving about this cake. I used a cream cheese frosting and it turned out great. USE THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was an unexpected hit. It's incredible to me just how much chocolate flavor there was in this cake given the small amount of cocoa powder in it. It is also incredible how moist and fresh tasting it was, given I made it three days ago and first cut into it tonight! I loved that it called for both butter, for unbeatable flavor, and shortening, for guaranteed moistness. I didn't include the cinnamon simply because it didn't appeal to me and that was a good call for my taste buds. As for the frosting, it is a fudgy, brownie-type frosting that pours easily and stays soft (even three days later).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the same recipe I had years ago and lost...so happy to have it again! As suggested by others, I use 3 sticks butter (omit veg. oil), use only 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and punch holes in cake with handle of small wooden spoon prior to adding the icing. It's much better on day 2...even more moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was one of my Mom's favorite recipes and mine too. To make it more chocolately, I add 1/3 cup Giradelli 60% Cocao chocolate chips or same in Giradelli baking bar to the heated butter/water/oil. I use a mixer. Mom always mixed it by hand. Frosting: 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 cup butter, 1 cup white sugar. Bring to a rolling boil. Add 1/2 cup Giradelli chocolate chips and beat. If using on sheet cake, pour over and allow to cool. I use this cake between layers and on top of this cake when I make a layer cake. I use a thicker frosting (made with powdered sugar) for the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States