The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by INTM
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is th ebest cake ever!!! its super moist and delicious. This was my first time making a chocolate cake and it was great!! Thanx for the post. I made a cake and a bunch of cup cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I did not like the frosting. It was overwhelmingly sweet. I am thinking that cake would be good without all the fat by replacing the butter and oil with nonfat yogart and using sliced strawberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiltflower
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I just made this cake and it isnt very good. The cake itself its very soft and isnt too bad but the frosting tastes odd. I followed the recipe word by word except for the cinnamon - I only added 1/2 a teaspoon. It also took more than 30 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rukshani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
just gorgeous, so moist the fork slices through it like butter! :) I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarNspice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Delicious! The only time I have ever done the heating liquid with the chocolate and margarine method was to make the base for nanaimo bars. It makes this cake moist and rich. The only things I did differently were to add 3 squares of semisweet bakers chocolate to the hot milk mixture, 1/2 teaspoon black pepper 1 teaspoon baking powder and omit the cinnamon. Cooled, cut into 2x2 inch squares and individually wrapped to freeze. Oh...if you're looking to layer this cake and add a filling, you'll want to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarAwayGramma

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Great cake! I made a test cake ahead of time to see if this would be THE ONE for my daughters first birthday. It is THE ONE! Great texture, frostable, and moist. Be careful...the batter might not make it to the pan soooo good! Only used a 1/2 tsp cinnamon and that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LalaBeansMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I havent baked a cake from scratch yet, so I decided to try this recipe and im sooo glad I did, so was my husband, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by techease22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I made this cake for my sweetheart for Valentine's Day and she loved it. It is really moist and rich and the icing is awesome. I was told by her and others that they don't usually like homemade icing, but this was good. Also, the hint of cinnamon in the cake made it really tasty. I'm going to make this again, but try and cut it in half. 24 servings is a bit much for just the two of us. Didn't help my diet at all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
texas sheet cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was a hit! Everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly the first time to get a good feel of how the base flavor tasted. The cinnamon gave it a very interesting/good kick of flavor. I may try this recipe without the cinnamon once to taste it without. I did make one change. All of my chocolate baked goods recipes, I substitute cold coffee for the liquid. So, for the 1 cup of water, I added 1 cup of cold coffee instead. It brings out even more chocolate flavor. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States