The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I have made this chocolate cake several times and everyone loves it!! I will never make chocolate cake from a box again. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is a great recipe. Everyone loved it. I made it in a bundt pan, doubled the cooking time. Looked beautiful with the glaze poured over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
The cake itself was wonderful! I followed the advice of others and only used half of the cinnamon. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I substituted just under 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 T of lemon juice. I mixed it together and let it stand for 5 minutes. It worked great! I rated it a 3 since I didn't like the icing. It was difficult to work with and very rich. I would make the cake again but using a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I don't often bake, but it was my moms 83rd birthday and she LOVES chocolate cake, so I gave this a shot. This was a HUGE hit with the whole family! I've never received so many compliments...even from my brother-in-law who has nothing nice to say to me! This is not an easy recipe, but it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This recipe is ABSOLUTELY STUNNING. I followed the recipe exactly, however I do not know how it keeps as it never lasts long. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
The Name says it all! This is definitely the best chocolate cake I ever ate in my life!! The only changes I made were in changing the cinammon to black pepper. This cake is truly addictive! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Creston, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
great recipe, loved the soft texture of the cake, and how quick it bakes. about the frosting, it is very easy to use and gives a clean finish for a neat looking cake, by using a spatula. taste wise i followed the other reviewers' advise in using less suger and making half the amount. this made the quantity and sweetness just perfect for me. i also did the trick of making holes on top of the cake using a tooth pick, so the frosting could sink in the cake. this gave a tasty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hessa A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by INTM
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is th ebest cake ever!!! its super moist and delicious. This was my first time making a chocolate cake and it was great!! Thanx for the post. I made a cake and a bunch of cup cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I did not like the frosting. It was overwhelmingly sweet. I am thinking that cake would be good without all the fat by replacing the butter and oil with nonfat yogart and using sliced strawberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiltflower

Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States