The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I dont know if it's because I made this with sunflower oil or not but all I could taste was the oil. It was actually the worst chocolate cake I ever had. Icing was good though. I liked this method better than the regular icing method. Mine was hard to get out of the pan and the middle got all messed up, had to cover with icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sauble Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Marvelous. It is so quick to make and doesn't even need an electric mixer. I have made it about 5 times in the last 3 weeks and it has been a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I baked this cake in 2 round 9 in pans and for 25 minutes and it was just right. 5 stars for the texture but 3 for the taste - I like the cinnamon (it's not too strong as others have said) but this recipe begs for more chocolate. I would have doubled the amount of cocoa powder if I had enough left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Absolutely wonderful cake. I make it all the time.. follow the suggestions of others. I use 3/4 cup butter and 1/2 oil.. its sooooo moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Shillingford Trew

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was a very tasty cake. I was skeptical at first but it did not disappoint. It was very moist and remained moist for day's. The only draw back was the frosting, it was actually a disaster, it was way to thick an did not make nearly enough to cover the cake and I personally did not like the taste of it, but that was easy to fix I just used a different chocolate frosting recipe I had at home and it turned out perfect. Once you make this cake you will not go back to making boxed cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marylmack03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I make this cake on a regular basis as the dessert for us!! Love it! :) I don't change a thing about the cake recipe though I do make a cream cheese chocolate or butter cream frosting frosting instead! The cake is moist and stays that way! I have also made it into a heart shaped 3 layer cake as well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Delish and made as is except didn't put nuts in for the sake of my toddler. But I imagine the nuts would cut the sweetness of the frosting a bit. I wouldn't cut the oil out - it matters to use both fats for the flavor and the texture each one contributes. This is a lot like a cake called Texas sheet cake. The cinnamon makes it something special though as does the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
AMAZING! Very simple to make, and the frosting is easy as well! Due to the super yummy sweetness of this cake I managed to get 32 servings of this. Just enough to tempt the tastebuds of my husbands coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This cake is awesome! Super moist! Super easy! Super chocolatety! I did change the frosting a bit. I doubled the milk and cocoa powder, cut the powdered sugar to 3 cups and added 1 c. coconut flakes and 2/3 c. almond slivers. Delicious! It was sweet enough with the decreased amount of powdered sugar and the extra milk made it soak into the cake more. Sooooooo goooood! I might just go have another piece right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmecky78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Very moist and made 24 nicely shaped cupcakes, but I'm not sure I love the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States