The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was a wonderful basic recipe. I modified it quite a bit in order to give it a 5. The chocolate really needed to kicked up to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
For me, this was an unusual method that produced a really good result. The icing is very much a like a layer of creamy homemade fudge, and the cake is tender and moist. THe touch of cinnamon is pleasant, but I might reduce the amount slightly next time, and there will be a next time. I made two - one without the pecans - and both were delicious. I had to bake mine 30 minutes; the center was still liquid at 20. Updating my review because I have made this cake 3 times in the past 2 weeks for different people, and everyone loves it. It is going to work tomorrow for a pot luck. Oh how I love to find an easy to make crowd-pleaser that turns out great every time! Ok - second update - I forgot to mention that this cake is even better the second day, if you can manage to have some stay around that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
very moist cake. used 1/2 of recommended cinammon and still too strong a taste for my family. used double amt of coca powder in cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
The title says it all!! Very tasty, moist and easy to make. Never any complaints when I make this cake. Everyone always wants seconds and the recipe. One time I substituted the oil with butter, next time was margarine and a time after that was apple sauce and it always came out perfect. I've also used milk/coffee cream instead of the buttermilk. This recipe is very flexible. I often make the cake in a bundt pan and make cupcakes. I never buy cake mix anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
absolutley amazing!!! I made a peanut butter-cream cheese filling to layer this with and it was so moist and goooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the same recipe I had years ago and lost...so happy to have it again! As suggested by others, I use 3 sticks butter (omit veg. oil), use only 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and punch holes in cake with handle of small wooden spoon prior to adding the icing. It's much better on day 2...even more moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was a really easy cake to make. My first chocolate cake ever for a friend's bday. It turned out really well. I have no complaints, but it tasted a bit too sweet. I think those 2 cups of confectioners sugar for the frosting is a bit too much. But then again, everyone's taste is different. That's why I only gave it 4 stars. Otherwise, it's very moist and tasty with a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Delish...next time will add less cinnamon and work with the icing (was too thick). Liked the idea of piercing the cake allowing the icing to seep into cake...my icing was too thick this time but will do it again. Thanks for recipe. Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smithdebbieb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fletcher, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe! I've searched for it as a Texas sheet cake but the others failed to add the cinnamon, which is a key ingredient. I use the Hershey's Special Dark cocoa for a more intense chocolate flavor. For those of you that don't keep buttermilk on hand, you can substitute an equal amount of sour cream. If your frosting seems thick and does not pour easily, just add extra milk (1 tsp at a time) until it is the consistency of pancake batter. The icing will set up as it cools. My mom used a fork to poke holes into the cake before pouring on the icing so it would seep into the cake...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is like a thick Texas Sheet Cake. I had to add 10 minutes to the baking time--it was still a soupy mess at 20 minutes. I am making it for a coworker who's celebrating a birthday so we'll see how quickly it's eaten tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatka, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States